<!-- Markdown twin of https://payments.gi/jurisdictions/germany/w13/. Same text as the HTML page; the HTML page is canonical. -->
title: Germany — Commercial Intelligence (M&A, Investment & Product) — trailing 12 months | World Payments Monitor
canonical: https://payments.gi/jurisdictions/germany/w13/
publisher: Asymmetric Intelligence

### W13 Commercial Intelligence (M&A, Investment & Product) — trailing 12 months Probable confirmed 2026-06-23

DE commercial activity centres on acquiring consolidation and pan-European wallet build-out; key events Unzer-AllCash (Mar 2026), Mollie-GoCardless (EUR 1.1bn), Solaris Series G (EUR 140m), SumUp IPO prep.

Standing sub-brief · as of 27 June 2026 176 words · last cycle 2026-10-12

#### Commercial Intelligence (M&A, Investment & Product)

This module renders discrete commercial events. On 12 March 2026 Unzer Group completed the acquisition of AllCash's point-of-sale operations in Plauen, Germany, adding 500+ terminals and around 2.5m annual transactions to expand in eastern Germany; the deal value was not publicly disclosed. Mollie agreed (announced late 2025) to acquire London-based A2A specialist GoCardless for EUR 1.1bn in stock (around 7x 2024 revenue), valuing the combined group at EUR 4.1bn — a transaction that reshapes account-to-account in the German-relevant market. Berlin BaaS provider Solaris completed a Series G investment of EUR 140m in February 2025, bringing total funding above EUR 530m and supporting embedded-finance and payments infrastructure. Together these reinforce SME acquiring consolidation and pan-European A2A repositioning.

#### Outlook

Commercial activity is escalating. The Mollie-GoCardless terms and several other commercial signals rest substantially on Tier-4 commercial-blog sourcing and require primary-source verification before being treated as confirmed; the Unzer-AllCash event is anchored on the company's own press release. Private-company commercial signals carry a deal-announcement over-index risk that is flagged in the gaps register.

Periodic update · new data 2026-10-12

#### Commercial Intelligence & Fintech

German fintech Finmid secured a EUR 17 million Series A extension to expand its embedded-financing product into new sectors. The round was led by Big Pi Ventures, with Main Set and Earlybird Venture Capital also participating. The round size was publicly disclosed; the terms were not otherwise broken out beyond the amount and investor list.

This funding event sits within a broader rebound in German fintech funding activity reported for the first half of 2026, which totalled EUR 1.2 billion across the market, an increase of 196 percent against the second half of 2025. Finmid's round is a discrete, named commercial event within that broader trend rather than the trend itself: it specifically concerns an embedded-financing (banking-as-a-service-adjacent) product expanding into new sectors, distinct from the structural market-wide funding recovery that provides its context.

#### Outlook

The item to watch is whether the German fintech funding rebound observed in the first half of 2026 continues through the second half of the year, and whether further discrete funding events in the embedded-finance and banking-as-a-service space follow the pattern set by Finmid's extension.

**2 earlier distinct update(s)**

Periodic update · new data 2026-08-11

#### Commercial Intelligence & Fintech

Three discrete commercial events involving Wero landed in Germany this cycle. N26 signed a Wero membership agreement, announced in December 2025, committing to launch peer-to-peer and e-commerce Wero integration across Germany, France and the Netherlands in the second half of 2026; the financial terms of this agreement were not publicly disclosed. bunq separately joined Wero's member network, with rollout planned across Germany, Belgium, France and the Netherlands during 2026; again, no financial terms were publicly disclosed for this membership arrangement. Decathlon Germany became the first market within its retail group to launch Wero payment acceptance on its website, reported in July 2026, marking a completed product release rather than an announced-but-pending commitment, with in-store acceptance planned for later in 2026.

These three events, taken together, describe a commercial pattern rather than three unconnected announcements: within a single reporting cycle, Wero added a challenger bank, a neobank, and a major sporting-goods retailer to its German commercial network. N26's and bunq's memberships are both categorised as partnership-restructuring commercial events at the announced stage, meaning the commitments are confirmed but the underlying integration work has not yet gone live in Germany; Decathlon's is a completed product release, meaning German consumers can already use Wero at checkout on Decathlon's website as of the reporting date.

This monitor draws a distinction between this commercial-intelligence coverage and the structural market-analysis and product-access-regulation coverage carried elsewhere: the N26, bunq, and Decathlon events are discrete, dated, named-party commercial developments, not a structural market-share shift or a regulatory product-access theme, and they are surfaced here on that basis. The confidence rating attached to all three is Assessed rather than High, reflecting Tier 3, single-outlet sourcing, The Paypers for the N26 and bunq items, SGI Europe for Decathlon, without independent corroboration located this cycle.

The absence of disclosed financial terms across both the N26 and bunq membership agreements is itself a data point worth noting for commercial-intelligence purposes: Wero's membership model with major banks and fintechs, at least as reported this cycle, does not appear to involve disclosed licence fees, equity stakes, or other quantified consideration, consistent with EPI's cooperative-scheme structure in which participating banks are themselves EPI shareholders or affiliated institutions rather than external commercial counterparties in the conventional sense. Where this monitor is unable to confirm terms, it records the item as not publicly disclosed rather than estimating a value.

Decathlon's completed product release is the more commercially concrete of the three events: it represents a live, consumer-facing acceptance point rather than a committed-but-pending integration, and its status as the first market within Decathlon's own retail group to carry Wero suggests the retailer may be piloting acceptance in Germany specifically ahead of a wider group rollout, though no confirmation of that broader group strategy was located this cycle.

Read alongside the two prior commercial developments, Decathlon's move suggests merchant-side Wero adoption in Germany is proceeding on two parallel tracks: bank and fintech-side membership commitments that expand the network of institutions capable of offering Wero to their own customers, and direct merchant-side acceptance deals that expand where German consumers can actually spend through Wero. Both tracks reinforce each other, but they are commercially distinct and are tracked as such here.

#### Outlook

Whether N26's and bunq's announced Wero integrations actually go live in Germany during the second half of 2026 as committed, and whether Decathlon's in-store Wero rollout follows its online launch on the timeline indicated, are the two clearest commercial-intelligence signals to track into the next cycle. A continuation of this pattern, additional named banks, fintechs, or retailers announcing or completing Wero integrations in Germany, would further reinforce the corridor-level reading, addressed separately in this cycle's payment-corridor coverage, that Wero is building a credible commercial network in Germany at pace.

Periodic update · new data 2026-07-08

#### Commercial Intelligence (M&A, Investment & Product)

This cycle's W13 signal for Germany is substantive across all three commercial-event categories: M&A, investment, and leadership/strategic signalling. The events are rendered from the commercial_events array and are distinct from structural market-analysis (W6) and regulatory product-access themes (W9).

**SBI Holdings / Solaris: Majority Acquisition (M&A, Completed)**

Japan's SBI Holdings acquired a majority stake exceeding 70 percent in Berlin-based Banking-as-a-Service provider Solaris via a EUR 140 million investment round. The transaction ends Solaris's run as an independent unicorn; the firm was previously valued at USD 1.6 billion. The deal is assessed as completed. The amount is publicly disclosed.

Solaris is a non-bank payment institution operating in the BaaS infrastructure segment — it provides banking and payment infrastructure to third-party fintechs and brands under a regulated licence. The SBI acquisition represents a strategic-investor buyout of a German non-bank BaaS infrastructure provider by a major Japanese financial group. The deal rationale is characterised as a majority buyout ending Solaris's independent-unicorn status. The transaction is the most significant German BaaS-sector consolidation event identified this cycle and is consistent with the broader pattern — noted in the key judgments — of German fintech consolidation proceeding through strategic-investor buyouts rather than public listings.

The bank versus non-bank distinction is relevant here: Solaris operates as a non-bank PI/EMI-adjacent infrastructure provider, and its acquisition by a bank-affiliated strategic investor (SBI Holdings operates banking and financial-services businesses in Japan) raises questions about how the regulatory perimeter and BaFin supervisory relationship will evolve post-acquisition.

**Trade Republic: Secondary Transaction (Investment, Completed)**

Trade Republic closed 2025 with a EUR 1.2 billion secondary transaction that valued the firm at EUR 12.5 billion, roughly double its 2022 valuation. The amount is publicly disclosed. Trade Republic is a non-bank neo-broker and financial-ecosystem platform. The secondary transaction — in which existing shareholders sell stakes to new investors rather than the company raising primary capital — signals continued high private-market appetite for German retail-investment platform businesses at elevated valuations, even in the absence of a near-term IPO pathway.

**N26: Leadership Transition (Strategic Signal)**

N26 appointed Mike Dargan, a former UBS executive, as incoming CEO effective April 2026. Both co-founders stepped back from operational roles. N26 is classified as a bank (it holds a full banking licence in Germany). The leadership transition signal is that a public listing for N26 is likely years away. The appointment of an executive with a traditional banking background — rather than a fintech-native or capital-markets-oriented CEO — is consistent with a strategic posture focused on operational consolidation and regulatory relationship management rather than near-term IPO preparation.

**German Fintech/Insurtech Sector: Annual Investment Total**

German fintech and insurtech investment reached approximately EUR 14.2 billion in 2026, proving resilient despite record insolvencies of approximately 24,000 in the broader economy — a ten-year high. Notable raises within this total include Scalable Capital's EUR 155 million Series E and Munich-based AML-technology provider Hawk's USD 56 million raise. The sector-level investment figure is assessed rather than confirmed from a primary source, and the underlying data is sourced from a T4 (industry/commercial) source.

The resilience of fintech investment against a backdrop of broader economic stress is a structural signal: capital continues to flow into German fintech and insurtech businesses even as the wider economy contracts. The Hawk raise — an AML-technology provider — is noted as a commercial event with potential cross-monitor relevance to the W11 AML/CFT module, though W11 analysis is reserved for the Sentinel feed.

#### Outlook

The German commercial-intelligence picture is characterised by consolidation through strategic-investor buyouts (SBI-Solaris), secondary-market liquidity rather than IPOs (Trade Republic, N26 signal), and continued sector-level investment resilience. The near-term outlook is for further consolidation activity as the BaaS and non-bank PI/EMI sector navigates the PSD3 transition. The W13 commercial-event surface will be updated as new M&A, investment, and product-launch events are identified.

1 further periodic run re-emitted the standing brief unchanged and is not shown.

**Sources and findings (5)**

1. T2 [https://www.unzer.com/en/press/articles/unzer-gruppe-uebernimmt-allcash-und-baut-geschaeft-in-ostdeutschland-aus/](https://www.unzer.com/en/press/articles/unzer-gruppe-uebernimmt-allcash-und-baut-geschaeft-in-ostdeutschland-aus/) retrieved 2026-06-23
2. T4 [https://businessofpayments.substack.com/p/business-of-payments-january-2026 [CAVEAT: Tier 4 commercial/blog source — Assessed; illustrative only]](https://businessofpayments.substack.com/p/business-of-payments-january-2026 [CAVEAT: Tier 4 commercial/blog source — Assessed; illustrative only])
3. T4 [https://businessofpayments.substack.com/p/business-of-payments-january-2026 [CAVEAT: Tier 4 commercial/blog source — Assessed; illustrative only]](https://businessofpayments.substack.com/p/business-of-payments-january-2026 [CAVEAT: Tier 4 commercial/blog source — Assessed; illustrative only])
4. T4 [https://businessofpayments.com/ [CAVEAT: Tier 4 commercial/blog source — Assessed; illustrative only]](https://businessofpayments.com/ [CAVEAT: Tier 4 commercial/blog source — Assessed; illustrative only])
5. T2 KPMG Pulse of Fintech H2/2025 (Germany funding)
