<!-- Markdown twin of https://payments.gi/jurisdictions/netherlands/w13/. Same text as the HTML page; the HTML page is canonical. -->
title: Netherlands — Commercial Intelligence (M&A, Investment & Product) | World Payments Monitor
canonical: https://payments.gi/jurisdictions/netherlands/w13/
publisher: Asymmetric Intelligence

### W13 Commercial Intelligence (M&A, Investment & Product) Probable confirmed 2026-06-27

NL commercial activity: Buckaroo→Keensight M&A; Wero NL rollout (POS 2026); nine-bank euro stablecoin announced; Quantoz EURQ/USDQ authorised. Most values undisclosed.

Standing sub-brief · as of 27 June 2026 215 words · last cycle 2026-10-11

#### Commercial Intelligence (M&A, Investment & Product)

This module renders discrete commercial events for the Dutch market this cycle.

M&A: Dutch PSP Buckaroo was sold to private equity firm Keensight Capital, with the transaction value not publicly disclosed. The deal is a completed PE consolidation of the Dutch PSP market; the structural consolidation trend itself sits under W6.

Product release (stablecoin, announced): Nine major European banks including ING announced plans to launch a MiCA-compliant euro-denominated stablecoin supervised by DNB, expected in 2026; value not publicly disclosed. This bank-consortium event also feeds the W2 standing position.

Product release (rail, announced): The Wero account-to-account wallet rollout is underway in the Netherlands, delivered by the European Payments Initiative, with point-of-sale availability targeted for 2026; value not applicable. The thematic rail-mix view sits under W5 and W9.

Product authorisation (stablecoin, completed): Quantoz Payments BV, a Dutch DNB-supervised EMI, received MiCA authorisation for two stablecoins, EURQ (euro) and USDQ (US dollar), issued on Ethereum with multi-chain expansion planned; value not applicable. The omitted EURD product is flagged under W2.

#### Outlook

W13 is established but held at Assessed, reflecting a T3-leaning evidence base across commercial signals. The forward watch items are the nine-bank euro stablecoin launch and Wero POS availability, both targeted for 2026. Private-company commercial signals are a methodology-flagged under-indexed surface.

Periodic update · new data 2026-10-11

#### Commercial Intelligence & Fintech

Mollie, the Amsterdam-founded payments and financial-services provider, completed its acquisition of GoCardless, the UK-based bank-payment specialist, on 1 September 2026. The deal is reported at USD1.1 billion in consideration. Alongside completing the acquisition, Mollie separately committed EUR350 million over five years toward expansion across the European Economic Area. The combination brings GoCardless's bank-payment (Pay by Bank) rails together with Mollie's existing card and local-payment-method capability across a reported thirty-eight countries, giving Mollie a broader multi-rail offering than it held previously.

Separately, Adyen, the other major Dutch-domiciled payments company, agreed two further acquisitions reported in the same period: Talon.One, a Berlin-based company, for approximately EUR750 million, and Orb, a US-based company, for USD335 million. Both deals were reported as slated to close on 1 July 2026; the Talon.One transaction's completion status has not yet been separately confirmed, and the Orb transaction's completion date likewise remains to be verified.

Taken as a set, these three transactions represent a concentrated period of M&A activity by the Netherlands' two leading independent payments companies, reinforcing the country's position as a centre of gravity for European payments-industry consolidation.

#### Outlook

The principal items to watch are whether the Adyen/Talon.One and Adyen/Orb transactions complete on or around the reported 1 July 2026 target date, and whether Mollie's integration of GoCardless's bank-payment rails together with its announced EUR350 million EEA expansion commitment translates into expanded multi-rail market reach over the coming periods.

**Sources and findings (4)**

1. T3 [https://iclg.com/practice-areas/fintech-laws-and-regulations/netherlands](https://iclg.com/practice-areas/fintech-laws-and-regulations/netherlands) retrieved 2026-06-27
2. T3 [https://www.plasma.to/learn/tools/stablecoin-regulation-map/netherlands](https://www.plasma.to/learn/tools/stablecoin-regulation-map/netherlands) retrieved 2026-06-27
3. T3 [https://banking.vision/en/development-wero-2025-2026/](https://banking.vision/en/development-wero-2025-2026/) retrieved 2026-06-27
4. T3 [https://eco.com/support/en/articles/15192006-mica-compliant-stablecoins-2026-full-list-with-issuers](https://eco.com/support/en/articles/15192006-mica-compliant-stablecoins-2026-full-list-with-issuers) retrieved 2026-06-27
