<!-- Markdown twin of https://payments.gi/jurisdictions/panama/w13/. Same text as the HTML page; the HTML page is canonical. -->
title: PA — Commercial Intelligence & Fintech (W13) | World Payments Monitor
canonical: https://payments.gi/jurisdictions/panama/w13/
### W13 Commercial Intelligence (M&A, Investment & Product) 1 gap Uncertain re-verified 2026-10-18 · changed 2026-07-04

Panama's fintech investment activity remains modest in absolute terms relative to its role as a financial hub: trailing-12-month equity funding has been in the low tens of millions of dollars across a handful of rounds, with limited M&A exits in the fintech vertical, alongside the January 2026 legislative event of Draft Law 314's introduction.

Open gap — wpm-int-2 No Panama-incorporated payments/fintech commercial event dated within the delta window was located for W13._Emerging-market/corridor-level coverage for Panama is structurally thin._

Standing sub-brief · as of 4 July 2026 179 words · last cycle 2026-07-04

#### Commercial Intelligence (M&A, Investment & Product)

Aggregate 2025 equity funding in Panama's fintech sector fell to $14.4 million across four rounds (through December), down from $18.4 million across nine rounds the prior year; individual deal values are not publicly disclosed. As of January 2026, only 67 of Panama's 707 fintech companies had received funding, and the sector recorded just one acquisition in the year through July 2025 against three historically — again with individual deal values not publicly disclosed.

The standout 2026 market-development milestone is legislative rather than transactional: Panama's Anteproyecto de Ley No. 314 was introduced to the National Assembly on 13 January 2026, proposing dedicated licensing categories for VASPs, PSPs and EMIs for the first time — tracked here for commercial-intelligence context as a market-development event rather than a funding or M&A transaction.

#### Outlook

Commercial signal for Panama's fintech sector is modest and dashboard-tier this cycle, with the Draft Law 314 introduction the only material market-development event; individual funding and M&A deal-level detail remains structurally under-indexed given aggregator-only source coverage, a recognised bias-correction area for future cycles.

no periodic updates on record for this sub-brief

** Sources and findings (3 unique sources · R-3/R-4)**

1.

[W13-E1] T4 Derived: Uncertain [in_force https://tracxn.com/d/geographies/panama/M43a-AgsfK3LvgIGrffDKvH7UYcE9F8msaKUAD17KZg](https://tracxn.com/d/geographies/panama/M43a-AgsfK3LvgIGrffDKvH7UYcE9F8msaKUAD17KZg) re-verified 2026-07-04

In the year 2025 (through December), $14.4 million was raised across 4 equity funding rounds in Panama overall, down from $18.4 million across 9 rounds in the same period the prior year; amount per individual deal not disclosed, amount_disclosed=false for constituent rounds.

2.

[W13-E2] T4 Derived: Uncertain [in_force https://tracxn.com/d/explore/fintech-startups-in-panama/yCpaKPFTlkZqAiiUSM-AyoXXfjbmrU1FCPMPyAFfEFs](https://tracxn.com/d/explore/fintech-startups-in-panama/yCpaKPFTlkZqAiiUSM-AyoXXfjbmrU1FCPMPyAFfEFs) re-verified 2026-07-04

As of January 2026, 67 of Panama's 707 FinTech companies have received funding, with the FinTech sector recording 3 acquisitions historically and 1 acquisition in the year through July 2025; individual deal values not disclosed, amount_disclosed=false.

3.

[W13-E3] T3 Derived: Probable [in_force https://globallawexperts.com/panama-fintech-law-2026-draft-law-no-314-sbp-rule-1-2026-licensing-aml-and-bank-access/](https://globallawexperts.com/panama-fintech-law-2026-draft-law-no-314-sbp-rule-1-2026-licensing-aml-and-bank-access/) re-verified 2026-07-04

event_date=2026-01-13: Panama's Anteproyecto de Ley No. 314 (Ley Marco Integral de Tecnologías Financieras) was introduced to the National Assembly, proposing dedicated licensing categories for VASPs, PSPs and EMIs for the first time; not a funding/M&A event but a material market-development milestone tracked for commercial-intelligence context.
