<!-- Markdown twin of https://payments.gi/jurisdictions/united-states-maryland/w13/. Same text as the HTML page; the HTML page is canonical. -->
title: US-MD — Commercial Intelligence & Fintech (W13) | World Payments Monitor
canonical: https://payments.gi/jurisdictions/united-states-maryland/w13/
### W13 Commercial Intelligence (M&A, Investment & Product) limited signal Probable re-verified 2026-10-18 · changed 2026-09-08

Maryland established a Digital Asset and Blockchain Technology Task Force to study blockchain/cryptocurrency policy, with a report due to the Governor and General Assembly by October 1, 2027; OFR will staff and facilitate the task force.

Standing sub-brief · as of 5 July 2026 152 words · last cycle 2026-08-21

#### Commercial Intelligence (M&A, Investment & Product)

The Maryland Community Investment Venture Fund is this cycle's only clean W13 commercial event: an ongoing investment program pairing fintechs with Maryland state-chartered banks and credit unions for pilot funding, with the 2025 proposal deadline extended to January 31, 2026. Individual award amounts and recipients are not publicly disclosed at the program level. Other candidate items surfaced in research this cycle — the Stablecoin Act signing, EWA reform signing, kiosk-rule finalization, and the Block/Cash App settlement — are regulatory and enforcement events rather than M&A, investment, or product-launch events under this module's schema, and have been reclassified to W1b, W2, W7, and W10 rather than force-fit into W13.

#### Outlook

This module's trailing content is thin: trailing-twelve-month activity in Maryland is dominated by regulatory and enforcement developments rather than discrete commercial transactions, and the next cycle should watch for whether the MCIV cohort produces individually disclosed deals.

Periodic update · new data 2026-09-08

#### Commercial Intelligence & Fintech

The sole commercial-intelligence event identified for Maryland this cycle is the Maryland Blockchain Association's 'Maryland BlockchAIn Bootcamp and Workforce Expo,' held July 13-17, 2026 at Capitol Technology University. This is an industry-coalition workforce-development event rather than a disclosed commercial transaction such as an M&A deal or funding round; per this module's scope, it is rendered as a discrete commercial event rather than folded into the structural industry-analysis reading captured separately under Industry Structure & Commercial Dynamics. The event followed directly on Maryland's broader 2026 digital-asset legislative package — including the virtual-currency-kiosk registration finalization and the Stablecoin Act — and reflects industry-side mobilization around workforce development in direct response to that legislative activity.

No M&A transaction, investment or funding round, or specific product-launch event was identified for Maryland this cycle; this module's content is limited to the single workforce-development event above, sourced at Tier 3 and Assessed confidence, with the amount/value dimension not applicable to this type of event.

Watch for whether the Maryland Blockchain Association or Maryland Tech Council announce further workforce-development or industry-coordination events tied to the new Digital Asset and Blockchain Technology Task Force's ongoing work through its October 2027 reporting deadline.

**1 earlier distinct update(s)**

Periodic update · new data 2026-08-11

#### Commercial Intelligence & Fintech

The Maryland General Assembly created a Digital Asset and Blockchain Technology Task Force this cycle, to be staffed and facilitated by the Office of Financial Regulation, with a policy report due to the Governor and General Assembly by October 1, 2027. This is a policy-body-formation event rather than a licensing, enforcement, or product development, distinct from the substantive stablecoin, kiosk, and staking measures enacted in the same session, and it signals that Maryland intends to treat this cycle's legislative package as a starting point for further blockchain and cryptocurrency policy work rather than a completed framework.

Watch for the Task Force's composition and initial work plan, and for whether its October 2027 report addresses the practical interaction between the stablecoin regime, kiosk registration, and the staking-as-a-service clarification as a single coordinated policy question.

**Sources and findings (5 unique sources · R-3/R-4)**

1.

[W13-E1] T3 Derived: Probable [in_force https://www.jdsupra.com/legalnews/maryland-governor-signs-bill-8307759/](https://www.jdsupra.com/legalnews/maryland-governor-signs-bill-8307759/) re-verified 2026-07-05

On May 12, 2026 Maryland's governor signed SB 662, the Maryland Stablecoin Act, a landmark regulatory product-development event establishing a state issuer/payment stablecoin services framework, effective January 1, 2027.

2.

[W13-E2] T1 Derived: Confirmed [draft_no_legal_force https://labor.maryland.gov/whatsnews/govmooresignsearnedwageaccessandaccesstobankingbills.shtml](https://labor.maryland.gov/whatsnews/govmooresignsearnedwageaccessandaccesstobankingbills.shtml) re-verified 2026-07-05

On April 28, 2026 Governor Moore signed the Earned Wage Access bill (SB94) alongside an Access to Banking Act expansion (SB43/HB259), a dual regulatory/market-development event reshaping the EWA and financial-inclusion product landscape in Maryland.

3.

[W13-E3] T3 Derived: Probable [in_force https://www.sheppard.com/insights/blogs/maryland-finalizes-comprehensive-rules-governing-virtual-currency-kiosks](https://www.sheppard.com/insights/blogs/maryland-finalizes-comprehensive-rules-governing-virtual-currency-kiosks) re-verified 2026-07-05

On January 13, 2026 the Maryland Office of Financial Regulation finalized regulations implementing the state's virtual currency kiosk statute, a regulatory event with direct compliance-cost implications for kiosk operators active in the state.

4.

[W13-E4] T1 Derived: Confirmed [in_force https://labor.maryland.gov/whatsnews/ofrjoins80menforcementactionagainstblockinccashapp.shtml](https://labor.maryland.gov/whatsnews/ofrjoins80menforcementactionagainstblockinccashapp.shtml) re-verified 2026-07-05

OFR joined an $80 million multistate enforcement action against Block, Inc./Cash App for BSA/AML violations, with Maryland receiving approximately $1.6 million; amount_disclosed=true for the state's share but the underlying penalty allocation methodology across states was not itemized in public sources.

5.

[W13-E5] T1 Derived: Confirmed [in_force https://labor.maryland.gov/finance/mciv/](https://labor.maryland.gov/finance/mciv/) re-verified 2026-07-05

The Maryland Community Investment Venture Fund extended its 2025 grant proposal deadline to January 31, 2026, continuing to fund fintech pilots at $25k-$50k per award in partnership with Maryland state-chartered banks and credit unions; individual award amounts and recipients were not disclosed at the program level (amount_disclosed=false).
