IE v13.3.0

Ireland (IE) · Module Detail

Ireland: Commercial Intelligence (M&A, Investment & Product)

#

Trailing-12-month commercial activity (run date 2026-06-24): Irish fintech attracted ~$259.4m across 2025 (up 9% YoY per KPMG Pulse of Fintech H2'25), with 7 fintech acquisitions in 2025. Largest deal: Teybridge Capital Europe ($58.61m, trade finance). Payments-specific: NomuPay raised $77m across two rounds; Wayflyer raised $35m (revenue-based finance). Dublin-founded Stripe was valued at $159bn (February 2026 tender offer; up from ~$91.5bn in 2025) and made stablecoin/AI acquisitions (Bridge, Privy, Metronome). Undisclosed-value events flagged with amount_disclosed=false.

Key judgment — Probable · impact ELEVATEDIreland's role as a payments-industry hub is reinforced this cycle by two commercial developments anchored to its EMI/payments licensing base: Payward's upgrade path from a CBI EMI licence to a full EU bank via the Saldo Bank acquisition, and Mastercard's continued Dublin headcount growth.claims: wpm-2026-W42-002, wpm-2026-W42-003
Standing sub-brief · as of 26 June 2026307 words · last cycle 2026-10-20

Commercial Intelligence

Ireland's commercial-payments momentum is captured in two discrete events this cycle. On the investment side, the Irish fintech sector attracted $259.38 million in deals in 2025, up 9% year-on-year per the KPMG Pulse of Fintech H2'25, with 7 fintech acquisitions in 2025 versus 5 in 2024; the largest deal was Teybridge Capital Europe at $58.61m in trade finance, payment software firm NomuPay raised $77m across two deals at growth stage, and Dublin-based Wayflyer raised $35m for revenue-based financing. This quantifies the jurisdiction's deal and investment momentum as a commercial-significance signal for market structure.

Periodic update · new data 2026-10-20

Commercial Intelligence & Fintech

Two discrete commercial events anchor the fintech intelligence for Ireland, both connected to the country's payments-licensing and payments-technology employment base. The first and more structurally significant is Payward Inc.'s signed agreement, dated 14 October 2026, to acquire Saldo Finance Oy, the Finnish holding company that owns Lithuania-licensed Saldo Bank UAB. Payward, the parent company of the Kraken exchange, currently holds a Central Bank of Ireland electronic money institution licence, which has served as its European regulatory base. The company frames the Saldo acquisition explicitly as an upgrade path, moving from an electronic money institution licence to a full European Union banking licence. The deal is expected to close in 2027, subject to regulatory approval, and financial terms were not publicly disclosed. The stated rationale, attributed to Payward co-chief executive Arjun Sethi, is that a regulated EU bank is the piece that lets the company serve European clients the way a primary financial institution should, with one place to hold assets, move them freely, and put them to work. The transaction's jurisdictional footprint spans Ireland, Lithuania and Finland, reflecting the layered nature of Payward's current and prospective European licensing base.

The second commercial event is Mastercard's opening of a second Dublin office, Two South County, within its Leopardstown European Tech Hub, on 8 October 2026. This expansion lifts Mastercard's Dublin payments-technology headcount past 2,000 people, a substantial increase from the 36 employees the company had in Dublin in 2008. The Taoiseach, Micheál Martin, publicly described the opening as a strong endorsement of Ireland's reputation as a leading location for innovation, technology and digital transformation. Unlike the Payward transaction, this event carries no regulatory-review dimension identified; it is a capital and operational commitment rather than a licensing or acquisition event.

Taken together, these two events illustrate different facets of Ireland's standing in the payments and fintech commercial landscape: one is a licensing-upgrade-oriented acquisition by a crypto-exchange parent using its existing Irish electronic money institution base as a stepping stone to full EU banking status, and the other is a continued scaling of an established global card-scheme operator's Irish technology workforce.

Outlook

The Payward-Saldo transaction's progress toward its expected 2027 completion, and the regulatory approvals it requires across Ireland, Lithuania and Finland, are the clearest forward markers in this space. Should the transaction close as described, Payward's European regulatory base would shift from an Irish electronic money institution licence to a banking licence anchored in the acquired Lithuania-licensed entity, a structural change worth tracking for its implications for the company's European operating model. Mastercard's continued headcount growth in Dublin suggests the city's role as a payments-technology employment hub remains on an upward trajectory, though no further specific expansion announcements beyond the October 2026 office opening were identified.

4 earlier distinct update(s)
Periodic update · new data 2026-09-14

Commercial Intelligence & Fintech

Confirmo Limited secured dual MiCA CASP and Payment Institution authorisation from the Central Bank of Ireland, announced April 2026. This is a Confirmed-confidence, discrete commercial event, distinct from any structural market-wide trend: a single named firm obtained both crypto-asset-service authorisation and payment-institution status from the same supervisor, positioning it to offer crypto and stablecoin payment services on an EEA-wide passported basis from a single Irish base. The authorisation was timed ahead of MiCA's transitional grandfathering deadline for existing crypto payment providers, after which unauthorised firms would face restrictions on continuing EU operations.

This is a specific, named commercial development rather than a broader industry-structure observation: it demonstrates that the CBI's authorisation architecture accommodates combined CASP-and-PI business models under a single supervisory relationship, and it establishes a live template that other firms pursuing similar dual-authorisation status could potentially follow. As with all commercial-intelligence items, the value or scale of Confirmo's underlying transaction volumes or business plan were not disclosed within this cycle's evidence set.

Outlook

Watch for whether other crypto-payment firms follow the Confirmo dual-authorisation template at the CBI in subsequent cycles, which would indicate this is becoming a recognised market entry pattern for stablecoin-payments providers seeking EEA-wide reach from an Irish base, rather than a one-off event.

Periodic update · new data 2026-09-05

Commercial Intelligence & Fintech

Confirmo Limited's dual MiCA CASP and Payment Institution authorisation is this cycle's discrete commercial event for Ireland: a completed product-authorisation milestone, dated April 2026 for the Payment Institution leg following the December 2025 CASP authorisation, with no transaction value or investment amount disclosed. The event is framed commercially as positioning Confirmo among the most comprehensively licensed stablecoin-payment providers in Europe, timed deliberately against the expiry of MiCA's transitional grandfathering arrangements. This is probable-confidence, single-source trade-press intelligence.

Distinct from the structural product-innovation reading under W9, the W13 lens treats this as a specific, dated commercial announcement: parties to the event are Confirmo Limited and the Central Bank of Ireland as the authorising body, the event status is completed, and amount_disclosed is false — the commercial terms or capital backing behind Confirmo's licensing push were not made public in the source reviewed this cycle.

Outlook

Track whether Confirmo announces commercial partnerships or product launches leveraging its combined licence base in the coming cycles, and whether comparable Irish CASPs pursue similar dual-authorisation commercial announcements timed against their own MiCA transition milestones.

Periodic update · new data 2026-08-11

Commercial Intelligence & Fintech

Cayman Islands-based FundBank acquired Irish blockchain start-up Trrue Chain for approximately EUR 10 million, a completed transaction reported by a single Tier 3 trade-press source and rationalised as part of FundBank's European-market expansion into blockchain capability. Separately, Irish fintechs attracted $259.38 million in disclosed deal value across 2025, up 9% from $237.95 million in 2024, according to a Tier 3 industry report; the largest single deal of the year was Teybridge Capital Europe's $58.61 million raise. On the product side, AIB, Bank of Ireland and PTSB launched Zippay, a bank-led, in-app account-to-account payment service, on 10 March 2026, a specific, dated product release distinct from the structural instant-payments regulatory shift it sits on top of. No transaction value was publicly disclosed for the Zippay launch itself, consistent with its nature as an internally funded product release rather than an M&A transaction. Each of these three items, the FundBank acquisition, the aggregate 2025 funding figure, and the Zippay launch, is recorded here as a discrete commercial event rather than a structural market-trend read, consistent with this module's remit.

Outlook

The $259.38 million 2025 aggregate funding figure, up 9% year-on-year, is the baseline against which subsequent Commercial Intelligence entries for Ireland should be measured; watch particularly for whether PSD3/PSR implementation activity itself becomes a driver of consolidation among smaller non-bank payment institutions seeking scale ahead of the transposition deadline. Further discrete M&A or product-launch events involving Irish-domiciled fintech and payments firms would be the concrete signal of continued commercial momentum in the sector this cycle's evidence base only partially quantifies.

Periodic update · new data 2026-07-10

Commercial Intelligence (M&A, Investment & Product)

The Central Bank of Ireland authorised multiple new Crypto-Asset Service Providers during 2025, including Kraken's Irish CASP authorisation — a completed product/infrastructure authorisation event rather than a disclosed transaction, with deal value not applicable and amount not publicly disclosed. Ireland is separately reported among the top two EU jurisdictions for MiCA white-paper filings, with more than 150 filings recorded by early 2026, underscoring the jurisdiction's position as a preferred EU base for crypto-asset service provider licensing.

Outlook

Ireland's CASP authorisation volume and white-paper filing position will be tested by the 1 July 2026 MiCA grandfathering closure; further CASP authorisation events and product launches referencing Ireland should be watched for in coming cycles.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T3https://kpmg.com/ie/en/insights/fintech/pulse-of-fintech-h2-2025.htmlretrieved
  2. T3https://www.irishtimes.com/business/2026/02/24/irish-founded-fintech-stripe-valued-at-159bn/retrieved
  3. T3https://tracxn.com/d/explore/fintech-startups-in-ireland/__qo4iDQXalIFuCA3IWeUyREYkELhGSEZhbJdj3Ce45Qgretrieved
  4. T3https://www.siliconrepublic.com/business/stripe-tender-140bn-valuation-fintech-axios-report-irelandretrieved