US-MT v2.0 Sign in

US-MT (US-MT) · Module W13 · Derived Confidence: Probable

US-MT: Commercial Intelligence & Fintech

#

Dominant trailing-12-month commercial event is Frontier Credit Union's acquisition of First Citizens Bank of Butte (closed 2026-02-01), the first whole-bank credit-union acquisition in Montana; deal value undisclosed.

Standing sub-brief · as of 5 July 2026131 words · last cycle 2026-07-05

Commercial Intelligence (M&A, Investment & Product)

Frontier Credit Union, based in Idaho Falls, completed its acquisition of First Citizens Bank of Butte on 1 February 2026 - its first expansion into Montana and the first full acquisition of a bank by a credit union in the state's history. The deal added $75 million in assets and one branch to Frontier's footprint, bringing its combined locations to 16; deal value was not publicly disclosed by either party. The transaction is a discrete commercial event distinct from the broader structural consolidation trend tracked at W6, and signals continued cross-charter-type consolidation pressure on Montana's population of 33 state-chartered banks.

Outlook

This precedent-setting transaction may encourage further credit-union-acquires-bank activity in Montana and neighboring states; no additional Montana commercial events were identified in this cycle's research.

no periodic updates on record for this sub-brief

Sources and findings (3 unique sources · R-3/R-4)
  1. Idaho Falls-based Frontier Credit Union announced acquisition of First Citizens Bank of Butte, its first expansion into Montana, adding $75 million in assets and one branch; financial details of the deal were not disclosed.

  2. [W13-E2] T3 Derived: Probable in_forcehttps://frontiercreditunion.com/blog/its-official-were-in-butte/ re-verified

    As of February 1, 2026, Frontier Credit Union's acquisition of First Citizens Bank of Butte closed, marking the first credit union full acquisition of a bank in the state of Montana and expanding the combined entity to 16 locations.

  3. [W13-E3] T1 Derived: Confirmed in_forcehttps://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/0001478454/000117184326000431/exh_991.htm re-verified

    Eagle Bancorp Montana, Inc. reported Q4 2025 net income of $4.7 million and full-year 2025 net income of $14.8 million, up 51.7% year-over-year, with a declared quarterly dividend of $0.145 per share payable March 6, 2026.