MZ · run world-payments-2026-07-04 v13.3.0
content: ai_generated 118 sources retrieved model claude-sonnet-5 ·

Mozambique

MZ schema world-payments-v1 trajectory: not recorded

Last updated · 14 modules · 72 sourced findings · 118 sources in the cumulative register

14Modulesbaseline.modules[]
72Findingsmodules[].findings[]
22Tier-1 sourcesrun_metadata.t1_source_count
Confidence mix (sums to 14 rendered modules; click to filter)

Jurisdiction brief

Lead Signal

Mozambique's central bank launched the country's first domestic instant-payment rail this cycle, and the launch reshapes who sits inside the formal payments perimeter. The Mozambique Instant Payment System, marketed as METIX, went live on 16 March 2026 in Matola as a 24/7/365 retail rail, with daily transaction limits set at 200,000 meticais for individuals and 500,000 meticais for legal entities. Its regulatory foundation, Notice No. 1/GBM/2026, makes participation mandatory not only for credit institutions but for electronic money institutions and Banco de Moçambique-authorised digital wallet operators alike. That mandatory inclusion of non-bank e-money issuers alongside banks is the analytical hinge of this cycle: it extends real-time settlement access to the mobile-money layer that already carries the bulk of retail transaction volume in the country. The same Notice frames SPIM explicitly as a vehicle for digitalisation, financial inclusion and innovation within the financial system, tying the infrastructure launch to Banco de Moçambique's broader National Financial Inclusion Strategy 2025-2031. Yet the inclusion of e-money institutions in a real-time settlement mandate throws into relief a gap sitting one layer beneath it: Mozambique's formal Deposit Guarantee Fund, established via Decree 36/2024 and its accompanying ministerial diplomas, protects bank depositors, but no equivalent float-segregation or safeguarding regime for e-money customer funds was identified in the sources reviewed this cycle. Non-bank issuers are being pulled deeper into the payments core through participation mandates while the customer-protection architecture underneath them remains less codified than the bank-deposit analogue. That asymmetry between inclusion in market infrastructure and inclusion in protection infrastructure is the throughline for how Mozambique's payments formalisation is unfolding in 2026.

14 of 14 modules
Signal
Density

Selections OR within a group, AND across groups. Press / to search.

#

Banco de Moçambique underwent a leadership transition in early September 2026: Felisberto Dinis Navalha was sworn in as Governor, succeeding Rogério Zandamela whose second and final five-year term expired, after a brief, publicly-reversed initial appointment of a different nominee. The prudential/conduct architecture under Law No. 20/2020 and its implementing Decree No. 50/2024 is otherwise unchanged; BM continued its innovation-policy track with the 8th Regulatory Sandbox call.

Movement — CHANGEDNew Governor (Navalha) and Vice-Governor (Guimino) sworn inLeadership transition at Banco de Moçambique.
Key judgment — High · impact ELEVATEDMozambique's central-bank leadership transition (Navalha replacing Zandamela, after a same-day reversal of an initial nominee) completes without apparent disruption to the underlying payments-regulatory architecture (Law 20/2020, Decree 50/2024), which remains unchanged.claims: wpm-2026-W1a-001, wpm-2026-W1a-003, wpm-2026-W1a-004
Standing sub-brief346 words · last cycle wpm-2026-09-08

Licensing, Authorisation & Market Access

Banco de Moçambique operates as Mozambique's sole licensing and prudential authority across the banking and near-banking space. Credit institutions, financial companies, microfinance operators and electronic money institutions are all authorised and supervised under the same statute, Law No. 20/2020, as further regulated by Decree 50/2024, with Article 16 of the Law vesting case-by-case incorporation authorisation directly in the BdM Governor via the Regulation and Licensing Department. There is no separate licensing track for non-bank payment or e-money activity distinct from the bank-centred regime; EMIs sit inside the same authorisation architecture as credit institutions and financial companies, differentiated by prudential category rather than by a separate non-bank licensing gateway. This is a genuinely bank-centric, single-regulator model, in contrast to jurisdictions that run parallel EMI/PI licensing regimes outside the banking authorisation track.

Periodic update · new data 2026-09-08 · run wpm-2026-09-08

Regulatory Landscape & Supervising Authority

Banco de Moçambique underwent a leadership transition in early September 2026. Felisberto Dinis Navalha was sworn in as Governor, succeeding Rogério Zandamela, whose second and final five-year term as Governor concluded. Benedita Maria Guimino was sworn in concurrently as Vice-Governor. The appointment followed a rapid reversal: President Chapo revoked his initial appointment of Waldemar Fernando de Sousa as Governor less than a day after announcing it, before Navalha was installed. The transition is a governance-continuity event; Banco de Moçambique's prudential and conduct architecture for the payments sector, anchored in Law No. 20/2020 and its implementing Decree No. 50/2024, is not reported to have changed as a result. Separately, Banco de Moçambique opened the call for the eighth edition of its Regulatory Sandbox, continuing its innovation-policy engagement with bank and non-bank payment-service providers under the new leadership.

Outlook

The leadership change carries elevated near-term attention given its unusual sequencing, but the analytical baseline is continuity rather than disruption: the supervisory architecture applicable to both bank and non-bank payment institutions in Mozambique is unchanged, and the Regulatory Sandbox call signals continued openness to innovation-track engagement under the new Governor and Vice-Governor.

2 earlier distinct update(s)
Periodic update · new data 2026-08-25 · run wpm-2026-08-21

Licensing, Authorisation & Market Access

Banco de Moçambique's Notice/Aviso 1/GBM/2026, dated 25 February 2026, established the Mozambique Instant Payment System (SPIM) and approved its Regulation, entering into force 2 March 2026. This is a high-confidence, T1 primary-regulator finding. SPIM is operated by SIMO under a new technology platform branded METIX, which integrates commercial banks and mobile-wallet operators — M-Pesa, e-Mola and m-Kesh — onto a single real-time settlement platform, officially launched 16 March 2026.

The market-access significance of this development is best understood against Mozambique's account-holding structure: as of November 2025, mobile-wallet accounts numbered over 24.6 million against 6.6 million traditional commercial-bank accounts. SPIM's architecture is mandatory for licensed banks, microbanks and IMEs alike, meaning the market-access question for new entrants shifts from whether to obtain a banking or e-money licence toward whether that licence carries automatic SPIM participation rights under the new Regulation. The bank-PSP vs non-bank IME distinction is carried directly into this framework: both categories connect to the same METIX rail, but under access terms defined by their respective licensing category rather than a converged single licence type.

Outlook

Watch for confirmation of participation terms and technical-access requirements for non-bank IMEs relative to licensed banks under the SPIM Regulation, and for whether additional mobile-wallet operators beyond M-Pesa, e-Mola and m-Kesh are onboarded to METIX in subsequent cycles.

Periodic update · new data 2026-08-11 · run wpm-2026-08-05

Licensing, Authorisation & Market Access

Banco de Mocambique's Aviso No. 1/GBM/2026, effective 2 March 2026, establishes the Mozambique instant payment system, branded SPIM or its operational name METIX, and designates SIMO as the operating entity. This is a Tier 1 primary-source development, carrying high confidence, and it sits squarely within the licensing and market-access perimeter because participation is mandatory rather than optional: credit institutions, payment service providers, and other Banco de Mocambique-authorised entities are all brought within the scheme's participation requirement. This mandatory design is the single most consequential market-access fact in the notice, because it forecloses the possibility of a two-tier market in which only banks connect to the new real-time rail while non-bank payment service providers remain on legacy bilateral arrangements. Both categories of institution face the same connectivity obligation, which is a materially different starting position from jurisdictions where instant-payment participation is bank-led with non-bank access following later, or mediated through indirect participation via a sponsoring bank.

The scheme's initial operating parameters, reported at Tier 3 confidence via Club of Mozambique's coverage of the launch, set a daily transaction limit of 200,000 MZN, approximately USD 3,129, for individual transfers, with higher limits available to legal entities. Interbank individual transactions are exempt from fees under the initial parameter set. This fee-exemption choice is a market-access-shaping decision in its own right: it lowers the cost of switching from existing payment rails to SPIM for retail users specifically, which is consistent with a regulator-operator strategy of building transaction volume during the scheme's early adoption phase before introducing commercial pricing tiers.

A second material licensing and market-access development this cycle is Banco de Mocambique's Aviso No. 2/GBM/2026, dated 2 June 2026, which establishes new connection rules for the Rede Unica de Pagamentos, the country's shared payments network, and explicitly revokes the prior Aviso No. 2/GBM/2015. This is a Tier 1 primary-source development sourced directly from the BdM normativos register, carrying high confidence. The revocation of a decade-old connection-rules instrument in favour of a new framework, arriving three months after the SPIM launch, reads as a coordinated modernisation of the underlying network architecture rather than an isolated administrative housekeeping change. Because Rede Unica is the shared network underlying broader retail payments access in Mozambique, a reset of its connection rules is itself a market-access event. The interpreter record available this cycle does not itemise the specific participant-category detail, bank versus non-bank, for the revised connection rules, which is a gap worth closing in the next review cycle.

The bank-versus-non-bank distinction is worth stating explicitly for this module: Mozambique's mobile-money-led retail payments market has historically been dominated by non-bank electronic-money issuers operating alongside, rather than fully integrated with, the bank-centred settlement infrastructure. SPIM's mandatory-participation design changes that structural picture by placing both categories under a single real-time settlement obligation, which is a more integrated market-access model than a bank-only instant-payments scheme would produce. Both instruments took effect within a single calendar year, Aviso 1/GBM/2026 in March and Aviso 2/GBM/2026 in June, a fast implementation cadence relative to typical central-bank payments-infrastructure programmes, though the interpreter record does not identify any specific technical-assistance provider this cycle.

Outlook

The most consequential open question for market access is how quickly non-bank payment service providers achieve practical, not just nominal, connectivity to SPIM, given that the mandatory-participation requirement establishes the obligation but does not by itself guarantee uniform technical readiness across a diverse population of banks and PSPs. A second item to track is whether Banco de Mocambique publishes further implementing guidance on the Rede Unica connection-rules reset that clarifies participant categories and technical connection standards. Both developments should be read together as a single modernisation programme whose market-access implications will become clearer as implementation deepens.

Sources and findings (7)
  1. T1https://www.bancomoc.mz/en/areas-of-expertise/licensing/licensing-of-institutions/retrieved
  2. T1https://www.bancomoc.mz/en/areas-of-expertise/licensing/licensing-of-institutions/retrieved
  3. T2https://practiceguides.chambers.com/practice-guides/banking-regulation-2026/mozambiqueretrieved
  4. T2https://practiceguides.chambers.com/practice-guides/banking-regulation-2026/mozambiqueretrieved
  5. T3https://www.mozambiqueexpert.com/en/mozambiqu-mobile-money-operators-mmo/retrieved
  6. T4https://incfine.com/en/obtaining-a-crypto-license-in-mozambique/retrieved
  7. T3https://www.mozambiqueexpert.com/en/mozambique-banking-sector/retrieved

#

BdM directly supervises market conduct of all credit institutions, financial companies and IMEs via Notices (e.g. 8/GBM/2021 on contractual terms/transparency, 9/GBM/2020 on complaints handling) issued under Law 20/2020. Depositor protection runs through a formal Deposit Guarantee Fund (FGD) established in 2024, though a dedicated EMI-specific safeguarding/segregation regime for e-money float remains less codified than the bank-deposit regime.

Standing sub-brief280 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-04

Conduct, Safeguarding & Financial Promotions

Market conduct across Mozambique's credit institutions, financial companies and IMEs is directly supervised by Banco de Moçambique itself, under Notices issued pursuant to Law 20/2020 - Notice 8/GBM/2021 on contractual terms and transparency, and Notice 9/GBM/2020 on complaints handling. There is no separate conduct authority distinct from the prudential regulator; BdM performs both roles for the same set of regulated entities, spanning bank and non-bank e-money issuers alike.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (6)
  1. T1https://www.bancomoc.mz/en/areas-of-expertise/supervision/conduct/retrieved
  2. T1https://www.bancomoc.mz/en/areas-of-expertise/supervision/conduct/retrieved
  3. T2https://practiceguides.chambers.com/practice-guides/banking-regulation-2026/mozambiqueretrieved
  4. T2https://practiceguides.chambers.com/practice-guides/banking-regulation-2026/mozambiqueretrieved
  5. T2https://responsiblefinance.worldbank.org/content/dam/documents/responsible-finance/Mozambique-Diagnostic-Review---Banking-and-Non-Banking-Credit-Institutions---V-II.pdfretrieved
  6. T3https://clubofmozambique.com/news/mozambique-central-bank-fines-nine-financial-institutions-for-violating-regulations-275645/retrieved

#

Aviso No. 4/GBM/2026 establishes new limits on outbound payments abroad made via bank cards, revoking Aviso No. 9/GBM/2025 of 9 December 2025. The specific new limit value has not been resolved from indexed source text this cycle.

Movement — NEWAviso 4/GBM/2026 card-limit revision (value unresolved)First W2 standing position established for MZ this cycle.
Key judgment — Assessed · impact MONITOREDThe specific new outbound card-payment limit under Aviso 4/GBM/2026 remains unresolved from indexed source text, constraining assessment of MZ's evolving cross-border card-payment posture.claims: wpm-2026-W2-001
Open gap — wpm-int-1Exact new outbound card-payment limit value under Aviso 4/GBM/2026 not resolved in indexed source text.no under-indexing note recorded
Standing sub-brief181 words · last cycle wpm-2026-09-08

Stablecoins & Digital Money

Mozambique has not issued a comprehensive stablecoin or crypto-asset regulatory framework. Cryptocurrency use remains legal but substantively unregulated: as of 2025, crypto trading operates in a regulatory grey area, with Banco de Moçambique's engagement limited to the AML-oriented monitoring role performed by GIFiM rather than any product-level authorisation or prudential framework for crypto-assets or stablecoins. No central bank digital currency pilot was identified in the sources reviewed this cycle. The only formal touchpoint between Mozambique's regulatory perimeter and digital-asset activity is the VASP registration regime addressed under W1a (Aviso No. 4/GBM/2023), which registers virtual-asset service providers without constituting a substantive stablecoin or crypto-asset law.

Periodic update · new data 2026-09-08 · run wpm-2026-09-08

Stablecoins & Digital Money

Aviso No. 4/GBM/2026 establishes new limits on outbound payments abroad made via bank cards, revoking Aviso No. 9/GBM/2025 of 9 December 2025; the specific new limit value was not resolved from indexed source text this cycle.

Outlook

This is a dashboard-tier item pending resolution of the specific new limit value; the direction of Mozambique's outbound card-payment posture cannot yet be assessed from indexed text.

Sources and findings (5)
  1. T3https://freemanlaw.com/cryptocurrency/mozambique/retrieved
  2. T4https://incfine.com/en/obtaining-a-crypto-license-in-mozambique/retrieved
  3. T4https://cryptovanguards.com/best-crypto-exchanges-in-mozambique/retrieved
  4. T4https://www.transfi.com/blog/stablecoin-payments-in-mozambique-unlocking-crypto-remittances-and-local-paymentsretrieved
  5. T4https://blog.mexc.com/wiki/is-crypto-legal-in-mozambique/retrieved

#

Mozambique's operational-resilience regime is emergent: a 2018 vendor licensing dispute caused a nationwide SIMORede payment-system blackout, exposing third-party dependency risk. Parliament unanimously approved a Cybersecurity Law in April 2026, and the government is mapping Critical Information Infrastructure (CII) with World Bank support, alongside INTIC-led cybersecurity/cybercrime frameworks and a national CSIRT integrated into FIRST.

Standing sub-brief200 words · last cycle wpm-2026-08-21

Operational Resilience & Critical Infrastructure

Mozambique's Parliament unanimously approved a Cybersecurity Law in April 2026, and the government has since begun mapping Critical Information Infrastructure and conducting business-impact assessments with World Bank support. A pending legal framework is expected to designate Critical Information Infrastructure operators and set proportionate obligations for them, though no date for that framework had been set as of this cycle's sources.

Periodic update · new data 2026-08-25 · run wpm-2026-08-21

Operational Resilience & Critical Infrastructure

The SPIM Regulation, approved under Notice 1/GBM/2026 and in force since 2 March 2026, mandates that the instant-payment mechanism operate 24 hours a day continuously, including weekends, public holidays and official bridge days. This is a high-confidence, T1 primary-source finding establishing an always-on operational-resilience baseline for Mozambique's core retail payment infrastructure.

Banking-sector guidance anticipates further resilience-adjacent detail: deadlines for availability of funds (same-day, D, and next-day, D+1), finality and irrevocability of payment instructions once cleared, communicated-reason return procedures for failed or rejected transactions, and mandatory contingency mechanisms for network disruption. These provisions, sourced from T3 banking-guidance commentary rather than the primary Notice text itself, describe the operational contract that both bank and non-bank participants must meet to remain connected to the METIX rail.

Outlook

Watch for confirmation of the specific contingency-mechanism technical standards referenced in banking-sector guidance, and for any reported network-disruption incidents that would test the 24/7 continuous-operation mandate in practice.

Sources and findings (6)
  1. T2https://blogs.worldbank.org/en/nasikiliza/protecting-mozambique-digital-future-cyber-resilience-for-jobs-trust-and-growth-retrieved
  2. T2https://blogs.worldbank.org/en/nasikiliza/protecting-mozambique-digital-future-cyber-resilience-for-jobs-trust-and-growth-retrieved
  3. T2https://blogs.worldbank.org/en/nasikiliza/protecting-mozambique-digital-future-cyber-resilience-for-jobs-trust-and-growth-retrieved
  4. T3https://www.trade.gov/country-commercial-guides/mozambique-digital-economyretrieved
  5. T3https://www.mozambiqueexpert.com/en/mozambique-banking-sector/retrieved
  6. T3https://furtherafrica.com/2026/03/24/risk-management-resilience-mozambique/retrieved

#

The national card/payment switch is operated by SIMO (Sociedade Interbancária de Moçambique) in partnership with US firm Euronet, which has replaced the legacy SIMOrede platform since 2018/2023 to bring ATM/POS infrastructure into line with international contactless standards. Visa dominates card acceptance (over 90% share) while the Euronet migration caused recurring Mastercard acceptance disruption. Mozambique also participates in the SADC-RTGS/SIRESS regional card-scheme cooperation network.

Standing sub-brief215 words · last cycle wpm-2026-08-05

Scheme & Network Compliance

SIMO, operated together with Euronet, runs Mozambique's national card and payment switch, and has been migrating away from the legacy SIMOrede platform since 2018/2023. Visa holds over 90% of card acceptance share in the country, and the ongoing migration has caused recurring Mastercard acceptance disruption - a durable friction point in the card-scheme layer even as Visa's position remains dominant.

Periodic update · new data 2026-08-11 · run wpm-2026-08-05

Scheme & Network Compliance

Banco de Mocambique has imposed an aggregate outbound card-payment limit of 6,000,000 MZN per year per account holder, approximately USD 94,000, for cross-border card payments. The annual ceiling is structured with sub-limits of approximately 500,000 MZN per month, 125,000 MZN per week, and 16,400 MZN per day, with higher limits authorisable on a case-by-case basis up to the annual cap. This is a Tier 3-sourced, high-confidence dated development applying specifically to bank-issued cards; the record does not evidence an equivalent limit on non-bank-issued payment instruments this cycle.

Outlook

Watch for whether Banco de Mocambique publishes a formal notice corroborating this limit at Tier 1, and for any extension of an equivalent control to non-bank card or account-based cross-border payment instruments.

Sources and findings (5)
  1. T3https://www.trade.gov/country-commercial-guides/mozambique-digital-economyretrieved
  2. T3https://www.trade.gov/country-commercial-guides/mozambique-trade-financingretrieved
  3. T4https://www.oficinatic.com/en/novas/mastercard-status-mocambique/retrieved
  4. T1https://www.bancomoc.mz/en/areas-of-expertise/payment-systems/cooperation-with-the-market/retrieved
  5. T3https://clubofmozambique.com/news/mozambique-banks-unveil-instant-payment-system/retrieved

#

Mozambique's primary formal cross-border corridor runs through the SADC-RTGS (ZAR-denominated) settlement system, joined in 2016, alongside potential PAPSS/COMESA REPSS interlinking. Formal remittance volumes from South Africa to Mozambique have declined sharply (down 36% since a 2022 peak), pushing flows toward informal channels, even as the new domestic instant-payment system (SPIM/METIX) went live in 2026 to modernise retail transfers.

Standing sub-brief241 words · last cycle wpm-2026-09-05

Payment Corridor Dynamics

Mozambique's primary formal cross-border settlement channel is SADC-RTGS, the ZAR-denominated, SARB-operated regional real-time gross settlement system that Mozambique joined in October 2016. That membership reduces the country's reliance on traditional bilateral correspondent banking for regional flows (see also W12).

Domestically, the Mozambique Instant Payment System - branded METIX - launched on 16 March 2026 in Matola as a 24/7/365 retail instant-payment rail, with daily transaction limits of 200,000 meticais for individuals and 500,000 meticais for legal entities. The launch-date and limit specifics rest on a single T3 news anchor, though the underlying regulatory basis, Notice 1/GBM/2026, is separately confirmed at T1. SPIM/METIX is tracked on the standing "Instant Payments" and "Major Product Launches" trackers, both marked established this cycle.

Periodic update · new data 2026-09-05 · run wpm-2026-09-05

Payment Corridor Dynamics

Banco de Moçambique's Notice 1/GB/2026 establishes the Mozambique Instant Payment System, providing 24/7 availability and operated by SIMO, the national interbank settlement operator. The system has been characterised as adjusted to international best practices for instant-payment infrastructure, marking a structural upgrade to Mozambique's domestic payment corridor rather than an incremental adjustment to an existing rail. The regulation sets daily transfer caps of MZN200,000 for individual transfers and MZN500,000 for legal entities, a limit structure that will directly shape the volume and profile of transactions that can move through this new corridor. These caps position the system for high-frequency retail and small-business use rather than for large-value corporate settlement, which will presumably continue to rely on existing correspondent and bank-to-bank channels outside the instant-payment rail.

This launch should be read as establishing the foundational domestic corridor infrastructure against which other payment developments in this market, including bank-to-mobile-money interoperability, will increasingly operate. The 24/7 availability characteristic is itself a significant corridor-dynamics feature, since it removes settlement-window constraints that previously limited when domestic transfers could clear.

Outlook

The key question for the coming cycle is real-world uptake: transaction volumes migrating onto the new instant-payment rail, and whether the MZN200,000 and MZN500,000 daily caps prove to be binding constraints in practice for individual and business users respectively. Any adjustment to these caps, or extension of the system's reach to additional participant banks, would be the next material development to watch.

1 earlier distinct update(s)
Periodic update · new data 2026-08-25 · run wpm-2026-08-21

Payment Corridor Dynamics

Mozambique's instant-payment corridor now operates under an explicit tiered transaction-limit architecture. Financial institutions may set daily maximum SPIM limits of 200,000 MZN (approximately US$3,129) for individuals and 500,000 MZN (approximately US$7,824) for legal entities per account. All individual-ordered interbank SPIM transactions are exempt from fees or commissions, a high-confidence, T1 primary-source finding drawn from Banco de Moçambique's own determination.

IME wallets carry a parallel but distinct tiered-limit structure: up to 200,000 MZN for Level 1 wallets, 500,000 MZN for Level 2, and 3,000,000 MZN for Level 3 wallets. This tiering functions as a de facto risk-graduated safeguard mechanism rather than a segregation or insurance-based safeguarding regime, differentiating wallet users by verification tier rather than by institution type. Together, the individual/entity limits and the IME wallet tiers define the practical capacity ceiling of Mozambique's domestic instant-payment corridor for both bank-account holders and mobile-wallet users.

Outlook

Watch for whether these transaction-limit tiers are revised as SPIM usage scales, and for any divergence in limit-setting practice between individual banks and IME operators within the ceilings the Regulation permits.

Sources and findings (5)
  1. T1https://www.resbank.co.za/content/dam/sarb/what-we-do/payments-and-settlements/cross-border-payments-conference/documents/paper-sa-sadc.pdfretrieved
  2. T1https://www.resbank.co.za/en/home/what-we-do/payments-and-settlements/SADC-RTGSretrieved
  3. T1https://www.bancomoc.mz/en/media/highlights/notice-no-1-gbm-2026-establishes-the-mozambique-instant-payment-system-and-approves-its-regulation/retrieved
  4. T3https://aimnews.org/2026/03/16/banco-central-lanca-sistema-de-pagamentos-instantaneos/retrieved
  5. T2https://www.boz.zm/payment-systems/regional-payment-systemsretrieved

#

Mozambique's financial sector is bank-dominated by three institutions (Millennium BIM, BCI, Standard Bank) controlling over 70% of assets, alongside 15 commercial banks and 12 microbanks in total; but usage is dominated by mobile money, with three MNO-affiliated IMEs (M-Pesa, e-Mola, M-Kesh) covering far more accounts than traditional banks. The standalone fintech/startup ecosystem remains nascent and largely telecom/bank-linked rather than venture-driven.

Standing sub-brief129 words · last cycle wpm-2026-09-05

Industry Structure & Commercial Dynamics

Mozambique's financial sector is bank-asset-concentrated but mobile-money-usage-dominated. Three banks - Millennium BIM, BCI and Standard Bank - hold more than 70% of banking-sector assets, while mobile-wallet accounts (24.6 million) substantially outnumber bank accounts (6.6 million). This is a single-T3-sourced figure this cycle, though partially corroborated by additional T3 reporting on bank-asset concentration specifically.

Periodic update · new data 2026-09-05 · run wpm-2026-09-05

Industry Structure & Commercial Dynamics

M-Pesa, operated by Vodacom, and Absa Bank Mozambique signed a memorandum of understanding at FACIM 2026 linking the Paga Fácil merchant service to Absa bank accounts. This is a discrete commercial partnership-restructuring event between a leading mobile-money operator and a commercial bank, announced without publicly disclosed financial terms. Structurally, it represents a further step in the deepening interoperability between bank rails and mobile-money rails in the Mozambican market, a pattern that has been building gradually as mobile-money operators and banks each seek to extend the reach of their respective payment services into the other's customer base.

This partnership sits within a market structure where mobile-money and bank-operated payment services have historically operated as largely separate rails, with mobile-money serving the unbanked and underbanked segment particularly effectively while banks retained corporate and higher-value retail relationships. An MOU of this kind, linking a merchant-payment service to a bank account structure, is consistent with a broader industry trend toward converging these previously distinct rails, though the commercial and technical details of how the integration will function have not yet been disclosed.

Outlook

The development to watch is whether this memorandum of understanding progresses to an operational, technically integrated product, and on what timeline. No financial terms were disclosed, so the commercial scale of the partnership remains unknown; confirmation of a live, integrated product linking Paga Fácil and Absa accounts would be the clearest signal of how far bank/mobile-money convergence has progressed in this market.

Sources and findings (5)
  1. T3https://www.mozambiqueexpert.com/en/mozambique-banking-sector/retrieved
  2. T3https://clubofmozambique.com/news/mozambique-banks-unveil-instant-payment-system/retrieved
  3. T3https://www.mozambiqueexpert.com/en/mozambiqu-mobile-money-operators-mmo/retrieved
  4. T3https://thefintechtimes.com/fintech-in-the-east-african-nation-of-mozambique-in-2026/retrieved
  5. T3https://tracxn.com/d/explore/fintech-startups-in-mozambique/__yCpaKPFTlkZqAiiUSM-AykzOdW_XbrZPYNwVJfO4-8A#top-companiesretrieved

The dominant financial-sector litigation touching Mozambique is the 'tuna bonds' hidden-debt scandal: state-guaranteed loans from Credit Suisse/VTB were later ruled illegal, leading to a 2024 English High Court judgment substantially in Mozambique's favour and a US$3.1bn award against Privinvest, alongside Credit Suisse's own ~$500m global regulatory settlement and the 2024 US conviction of former finance minister Manuel Chang. Domestically, BdM's administrative-sanctions regime is active, with recurring fines against banks and IMEs for prudential, AML/CFT, forex and consumer-protection breaches.

Standing sub-brief262 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-04

Legal & Litigation

The dominant legal and litigation development for Mozambique's payments and financial sector is the "tuna bonds" hidden-debt scandal, which reached decisive milestones in this cycle's reporting window. A 2024 English High Court judgment substantially favoured Mozambique, producing a US$3.1 billion award against Privinvest. Credit Suisse and its subsidiary CSSEL resolved the matter for US$547 million, part of a coordinated global resolution totalling roughly US$500 million in aggregate fines, and former Mozambican finance minister Manuel Chang was convicted in the United States in 2024. This is tracked on the standing "Payments Litigation" tracker as escalating, and represents the highest-impact single item in this cycle's Mozambique findings (rated CRITICAL).

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (6)
  1. T4https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tuna_bondsretrieved
  2. T3https://www.seafoodsource.com/news/supply-trade/mozambique-wins-usd-3-1-billion-in-lawsuit-over-tuna-bond-scandalretrieved
  3. T1https://www.justice.gov/usao-edny/pr/credit-suisse-resolves-fraudulent-mozambique-loan-case-547-million-coordinated-globalretrieved
  4. T1https://www.bancomoc.mz/media/kahpjmb1/fines-imposed-on-credit-institutions.pdfretrieved
  5. T3https://clubofmozambique.com/news/bank-of-mozambique-sanctions-commercial-banks-and-managers-aim-report-251316/retrieved
  6. T3https://clubofmozambique.com/news/mozambique-central-bank-fines-nine-financial-institutions-for-violating-regulations-275645/retrieved

#

Merchant acquiring in Mozambique runs through the SIMO/Euronet national switch connecting banks and EMIs to POS/ATM infrastructure. Physical card-acceptance infrastructure has contracted slightly even as digital-wallet usage surges: POS terminals fell from 35,470 to 33,191 and ATMs from 1,413 to 1,399 in the year to November, while the ongoing Mastercard/Visa migration has created intermittent card-acceptance risk for merchants and cardholders.

Open gap — wpm-int-2Merchant-acquiring / high-risk-MCC specific MZ development not resolved this cycle.Merchant-acquiring ops is a fleet under-indexed vector per methodology bias corrections.
Standing sub-brief135 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-04

Merchant Acquiring & Risk

Mozambique's physical card-acceptance infrastructure contracted slightly over the year to November: point-of-sale terminals fell from 35,470 to 33,191, and ATMs fell from 1,413 to 1,399, even as digital-wallet usage continued to surge. This single-T3-sourced figure sits alongside the SIMO/Euronet migration-related Mastercard acceptance disruption documented under W4, suggesting that acquiring-side friction in Mozambique currently has two distinct sources: a modest contraction in physical terminal/ATM footprint, and scheme-migration-related acceptance interruption.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T3https://clubofmozambique.com/news/mozambique-banks-unveil-instant-payment-system/retrieved
  2. T3https://www.trade.gov/country-commercial-guides/mozambique-trade-financingretrieved
  3. T3https://www.mozambiqueexpert.com/en/mozambiqu-mobile-money-operators-mmo/retrieved
  4. T4https://www.oficinatic.com/en/novas/mastercard-status-mocambique/retrieved

#

Mozambique's Instant Payment System, METIX, moved from regulatory approval to live operation this cycle. Established by Notice No. 1/GBM/2026 (25 February 2026), the 24/7/365 electronic retail rail was formally rolled out by the Governor in Matola around mid-August 2026 and is now accessible via internet banking, mobile apps and USSD to any account-holder at an institution connected to the SIMO network, with fee-free individual interbank transfers.

Movement — CHANGEDMETIX live nationwideInstant payment system moved from approved to operational.
Key judgment — Confirmed · impact HIGHMETIX's move from regulatory approval to live, fee-free instant retail payments materially advances Mozambique's real-time-payments infrastructure and is structurally gated on SIMO's exclusive national network access, linking W9 and W12.claims: wpm-2026-W9-001, wpm-2026-W9-002, wpm-2026-W12-003
Horizon · 2027 (±year)National Financial Inclusion Strategy (ENIF) first phase concludesin_force · TT3
Horizon · 2027 (±year)National Financial Inclusion Strategy (ENIF) first phase concludesin_force · TT3
Standing sub-brief170 words · last cycle wpm-2026-09-08

Product Innovation & Market Development

Banco de Moçambique launched the seventh edition of its Regulatory Sandbox this cycle, framed within the National Financial Inclusion Strategy 2025-2031 (ENIF) and inviting fintechs and aggregators to work on inclusive digitalisation, consumer protection and green finance themes. The sandbox was first established in 2018 and has now reached its seventh iteration, indicating a sustained, institutionalised innovation channel rather than a one-off initiative.

Periodic update · new data 2026-09-08 · run wpm-2026-09-08

Instant / Real-Time Retail Payment Rails

Notice No. 1/GBM/2026 of 25 February 2026 established the Mozambique Instant Payment System, METIX, and approved its regulation. Banco de Moçambique's Governor formally rolled out METIX at a live ceremony at the central bank's Cultural Centre in Matola city in mid-August 2026, marking its move from regulatory approval to live nationwide operation. METIX operates 24/7/365 with instant fund availability, and is accessible via internet banking, mobile apps and USSD. Individual-to-individual, individual-to-business and individual-to-Government interbank transfers over METIX are free of charge, while business-initiated transfers and transfers originated by e-money institutions carry fees set at the discretion of the originating institution. Participating banks may additionally impose lower maximum daily transaction limits than the regulatory ceiling set under Notice No. 1/GBM/2026, calibrated to individual client risk profiles. Access to METIX depends on holding an account with an institution connected to the SIMO network, meaning reach is set by bank and non-bank e-money-institution connectivity to that single national infrastructure rather than by METIX rules alone.

Outlook

METIX's shift to live, fee-free instant retail payments is Mozambique's most consequential payments-infrastructure development this cycle, and its practical reach will continue to be bounded by SIMO network connectivity as the exclusive gate to the rail; usage patterns and any divergence between bank and non-bank e-money-institution participation are worth monitoring as the system matures.

2 earlier distinct update(s)
Periodic update · new data 2026-08-25 · run wpm-2026-08-21

Product Innovation & Market Development

Two early-stage regulatory-innovation signals surfaced this cycle. Banco de Moçambique is analysing rules that would require banks to incorporate AI technologies in a regulated manner, addressing risk, opportunity and digital-supervision dimensions; no rule has been finalised as of 2026, and this remains an assessed-confidence, T3-sourced finding at the consultation-analysis stage. Separately, the National Financial Inclusion Strategy 2025-2031 foresees future implementation of consumer data-protection and cybersecurity regulation that would oblige banks to review privacy policies and strengthen digital infrastructure, with an anticipated horizon extending toward 2031.

Both developments are forward-looking policy signals rather than binding rules, and both would apply primarily to bank/PSP-type institutions per current sourcing rather than IMEs specifically.

Outlook

Watch for whether Banco de Moçambique's AI-in-finance analysis progresses to a formal consultation stage, and for the pace at which the National Financial Inclusion Strategy's data-protection and cybersecurity commitments translate into drafted regulation ahead of the 2031 horizon.

Periodic update · new data 2026-08-11 · run wpm-2026-08-05

Product Innovation & Market Development

Mozambique's National Financial Inclusion Strategy 2025-2031 anchors this cycle's product-innovation and market-development picture. Launched in August 2025 and reported at Tier 3 confidence via the MENA Fintech Organisation, the strategy's first phase, running from 2025 to 2027, prioritises three areas: expanding access to financial services, strengthening data protection, and improving digital security. The strategy is explicitly identified as a driver behind continuing uptake of SPIM connectivity, Mozambique's newly launched instant-payment rail, which links this product-innovation development directly to the licensing and market-access developments evidenced elsewhere this cycle.

The strategy's structure is notable for treating access expansion, data protection, and digital security as a single first-phase package rather than sequencing them, access first, safeguards later. That sequencing choice suggests a policy design in which trust infrastructure is being built concurrently with reach, rather than being deferred until after adoption scales. For product and market-development teams assessing Mozambique, this indicates that new digital-payment products entering the market during 2025-2027 should expect data-protection and digital-security expectations to be live policy priorities from the outset, not a later-stage compliance layer bolted onto an already-scaled product.

The strategy's link to SPIM adoption is the clearest concrete manifestation available this cycle of what the inclusion strategy is actually driving in practice: the strategy is credited with continuing to drive uptake of a specific, named piece of payments infrastructure that launched within the same strategy window, giving the strategy's first-phase targets an observable metric to be tracked against rather than remaining a purely qualitative policy commitment. No jurisdiction-specific product-launch or investment detail beyond the strategy itself was evidenced at a confidence level sufficient for inclusion in this module this cycle; the strategy is being treated as the sole material product-innovation development for Mozambique in this baseline.

Outlook

The strategy's first phase runs through 2027, which gives a defined window against which to assess whether access-expansion, data-protection, and digital-security targets are being met concurrently as designed, or whether one dimension outpaces the other two. Product and market-development analysis in subsequent cycles should track whether data-protection and digital-security implementing measures materialise with the same visibility as the access-expansion metrics.

Sources and findings (5)
  1. T1https://www.bancomoc.mz/media/unlafn3l/comunicado_sandbox-7%C2%AA-edi%C3%A7%C3%A3o.pdfretrieved
  2. T3https://mena-fintech.org/news/mozambique-turns-to-fintech-to-expand-financial-inclusion/retrieved
  3. T3https://mena-fintech.org/news/mozambique-turns-to-fintech-to-expand-financial-inclusion/retrieved
  4. T1https://www.bancomoc.mz/media/edrlrwxe/communiqu%C3%A9-interoperability-of-mobile-money-operators-in-effect-mkesh-m-pesa-and-e-mola.pdfretrieved
  5. T1https://www.bancomoc.mz/en/media/highlights/notice-no-1-gbm-2026-establishes-the-mozambique-instant-payment-system-and-approves-its-regulation/retrieved

#

Circular No. 01/EMO/2026 of 27 January sets terms for submitting data for statistics on payment means/instruments and financial-access channels, with a 90-day parallel-reporting transition tied to Notice No. 05/GBM/2025 of 21 October.

Movement — NEWCircular 01/EMO/2026 reporting regimeFirst W10 standing position established for MZ via backfilled circular.
Standing sub-brief204 words · last cycle wpm-2026-09-08

Consumer Protection & APP Fraud

Mozambique has no dedicated financial-consumer protection agency; complaint handling and enforcement for financial-consumer issues sit within Banco de Moçambique itself, rather than with a separate specialised body. This structural point sits alongside a historic conduct-enforcement gap - an industry Board of Ethics that was never established - predating the current Notice-based conduct regime addressed under W1b.

Periodic update · new data 2026-09-08 · run wpm-2026-09-08

Payment Statistics & Regulatory Reporting

Circular No. 01/EMO/2026 of 27 January sets terms for submitting data on payment means and instruments and on channels for access to financial services and securities, with a 90-day parallel-reporting transition tied to Notice No. 05/GBM/2025 of 21 October.

Outlook

This backfilled reporting circular is a dashboard-tier infrastructure item; the 90-day parallel-reporting transition window is the operative near-term milestone to track.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T1https://www.bancomoc.mz/en/educational/financial-consumer-portal/market-conduct-and-consumer-protection/retrieved
  2. T3https://360mozambique.com/economy/banking/bank-of-mozambique-fines-nine-financial-institutions-for-breaches-of-regulations/retrieved
  3. T2https://responsiblefinance.worldbank.org/content/dam/documents/responsible-finance/Mozambique-Diagnostic-Review---Banking-and-Non-Banking-Credit-Institutions---V-II.pdfretrieved
  4. T1https://www.bancomoc.mz/en/areas-of-expertise/supervision/conduct/retrieved

#

Sentinel position: Mozambique was FATF grey-listed October 2022-October 2025 for AML/CFT deficiencies, completing all 26 action-plan items before being delisted alongside South Africa, Nigeria and Burkina Faso. New AML/CFT laws (14/2023, 15/2023) replaced the prior 2022 regime, GIFiM remains the financial-intelligence unit, and BdM has imposed transaction-limit tiers on e-money institutions given an assessed 'high' terrorism-financing threat level in that sector.

Standing sub-brief185 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-04

AML/CFT & Financial Crime

This module is sourced from the Sentinel.gi feed; in keeping with WPM methodology, the items below are carried on that provenance without original illicit-finance analysis performed here, and readers should consult Sentinel.gi directly for the underlying analytical treatment.

Mozambique was removed from the FATF grey list in October 2025 after completing all 26 items of its action plan; the FATF plenary unanimously delisted Mozambique alongside South Africa, Nigeria and Burkina Faso.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (6)
  1. T3sentinel.gi/mozambique-bdm-aml-fines
  2. T?FIM (sentinel.gi) per-JID baseline profile — Mozambique — Mozambique's AML/CFT regime is anchored in its Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing Law, supervised by Banco de Moçambique and the national FIU (GIFiM). <cite index="119-1">Mozambique strengthened the effectiveness of its AML/CFT regime to meet the commitments in its action plan regarding the strategic deficiencies that the FATF identified in October 2022</cite>, resulting in removal from the FATF grey list in October 2025, though capacity gaps persist in BO collection, FIU resourcing, and supervision of extractive and NPO sectors.
  3. T?FIM (sentinel.gi) gaps_register_cumulative (issue FIM-BASE-GAP-003) — Gap: sourcing-thinness
  4. T2FIM (sentinel.gi) enforcement_action_register (issue FIM-BASE-ENF-005) — Enforcement: Swiss Federal Criminal Court — UBS Group AG (as successor to Credit Suisse)
  5. T?FIM (sentinel.gi) gaps_register_cumulative (issue FIM-BASE-GAP-001) — Gap: enforcement-absence
  6. T?FIM (sentinel.gi) gaps_register_cumulative (issue FIM-BASE-GAP-002) — Gap: capacity-deficit

#

BM re-based the rules governing connection to the national Single Payments Network (Rede Única de Pagamentos, operated over the SIMO infrastructure) via Aviso No. 2/GBM/2026 of 2 June 2026, revoking the prior 2015 framework. SIMO remains the exclusive, nationwide Single Network Operator (Sociedade Interbancária de Moçambique) used by credit institutions and financial companies, and is the connectivity gate for METIX access.

Movement — CHANGEDAviso 2/GBM/2026 network-access rules in forceSingle Payments Network connection rules re-based.
Standing sub-brief184 words · last cycle wpm-2026-09-08

Correspondent Banking, Settlement & Access

Mozambique's correspondent-banking access is constrained by the broader global de-risking trend: no US banks are physically present in the country, and global correspondent-banking relationships fell by roughly 15-20% between 2010 and 2023, with that contraction concentrated in Africa. USD-denominated transactions therefore rely on a correspondent bank list rather than direct US banking presence. This module's analytical spine is the asymmetry between bank access to correspondent networks and the comparatively thinner access available to non-bank payment institutions, though current sources speak primarily to the bank-level picture.

Periodic update · new data 2026-09-08 · run wpm-2026-09-08

Correspondent Banking, Settlement & Access

Aviso No. 2/GBM/2026 of 2 June 2026 sets new rules for connection to the Single Payments Network, revoking Aviso No. 2/GBM/2015 of 22 April. SIMO remains the exclusive, nationwide Single Network Operator used by credit institutions and financial companies to manage electronic transactions. METIX's access is gated on holding an account with an institution connected to that same SIMO network, meaning that both bank and non-bank e-money institutions reach the instant-payments rail only through this single shared connectivity layer.

Outlook

The module's analytical spine is the access asymmetry between banks and non-bank e-money institutions in reaching Mozambique's settlement infrastructure: connection to SIMO, not participation in any single scheme, is what determines whether an institution's customers can reach METIX and the wider national payments network, and Aviso No. 2/GBM/2026's re-based connection rules are the mechanism to watch for any change in that access calculus.

1 earlier distinct update(s)
Periodic update · new data 2026-09-05 · run wpm-2026-09-05

Correspondent Banking, Settlement & Access

Mozambique's settlement structure operates on a clear bank-versus-non-bank access asymmetry that is the analytical spine of this module. SIMO operates as the national interbank settlement infrastructure, now carrying the newly launched Instant Payment System established under Notice 1/GB/2026. Separately, Banco de Moçambique's Notice 7/GBM/2024 establishes tiered mobile-money transaction and balance limits across Level I to Level III tiers, with the upper tier reaching up to MZN3 million for micro and small-business mobile-money accounts, functioning as an AML/CFT risk control layered onto the non-bank side of the settlement structure.

This creates a two-track access model: bank-operated settlement through SIMO, now benefiting from 24/7 instant-payment infrastructure and governed by the individual and legal-entity daily caps described elsewhere, and mobile-money settlement, which is governed instead by tiered balance and transaction limits designed primarily as a risk-management control rather than as a corridor-capacity measure. The two tracks are not fully separate in practice, since mobile-money operators ultimately settle through the same underlying banking and interbank infrastructure that SIMO provides, but the regulatory treatment of each track differs meaningfully: banks operate under transfer caps tied to instant-payment infrastructure, while mobile-money accounts operate under tiered AML/CFT-oriented balance limits.

Outlook

The structural question to watch is whether the bank-operated instant-payment rail and the tiered mobile-money settlement structure move toward closer regulatory convergence, particularly as bank/mobile-money commercial partnerships such as the M-Pesa/Absa MOU push technical integration further. Any regulatory update harmonising the two tiers' limit structures would be a significant correspondent-and-settlement development to track in a future cycle.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T1https://www.resbank.co.za/en/home/what-we-do/payments-and-settlements/SADC-RTGSretrieved
  2. T3https://www.trade.gov/country-commercial-guides/mozambique-trade-financingretrieved
  3. T4https://www.trustsphere.ai/post/the-de-risking-dilemma-balancing-correspondent-banking-access-with-financial-crime-controlsretrieved
  4. T2https://www.boz.zm/payment-systems/regional-payment-systemsretrieved

#

Mozambique's payments/fintech commercial-intelligence flow over the trailing 12 months is limited but active: South African B2B lending-as-a-service fintech Kuunda expanded into Mozambique and secured a US$7.5m pre-Series A round (continent-wide, including Mozambique) in late 2025; savings-group fintech Roscas secured investment from Renew Capital; and the domestic startup base remains small (13 fintech companies per Tracxn, only 1 funded, 1 acquisition).

Open gap — wpm-int-3Private-company (non-listed PSP/fintech) funding or structure signal specific to MZ not resolved this cycle.Private-company signals are a fleet under-indexed vector per methodology bias corrections.
Standing sub-brief210 words · last cycle wpm-2026-09-05

Commercial Intelligence (M&A, Investment & Product)

Kuunda expanded into Mozambique and secured a US$7.5 million pre-Series A funding round in late 2025, intended to accelerate the company's growth across Africa and the Middle East; Mozambique is named as one of several expansion markets in that continent-wide round rather than the sole destination for the capital.

Periodic update · new data 2026-09-05 · run wpm-2026-09-05

Commercial Intelligence & Fintech

The discrete commercial event this cycle is the memorandum of understanding signed at FACIM 2026 between M-Pesa, operated by Vodacom, and Absa Bank Mozambique, linking the Paga Fácil merchant service to Absa bank accounts. This is classified as a partnership-restructuring event under an announced status, with the deal's financial terms not publicly disclosed. As a discrete commercial event, it is distinct from any broader structural industry-consolidation narrative: it is a specific, dated partnership announcement between two named parties rather than a market-wide trend.

No additional discrete commercial events, such as funding rounds, acquisitions, or product launches beyond the instant-payment infrastructure covered under Payment Corridor Dynamics, were identified for Mozambique this cycle.

Outlook

The next commercial-intelligence milestone to watch is whether the M-Pesa/Absa memorandum of understanding converts into an announced operational product launch, at which point financial and technical terms may become clearer. Any follow-on funding, investment, or additional partnership announcement involving Mozambican payment-sector participants would also be tracked here in a future cycle.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T3https://mena-fintech.org/news/mozambique-turns-to-fintech-to-expand-financial-inclusion/retrieved
  2. T3https://mena-fintech.org/news/mozambique-turns-to-fintech-to-expand-financial-inclusion/retrieved
  3. T3https://tracxn.com/d/explore/fintech-startups-in-mozambique/__yCpaKPFTlkZqAiiUSM-AykzOdW_XbrZPYNwVJfO4-8A#top-companiesretrieved
  4. T3https://mena-fintech.org/news/mozambique-turns-to-fintech-to-expand-financial-inclusion/retrieved
No modules match.

Filters combine as OR inside a group and AND across groups.

Editorial metadata

Provenance only. Nothing below gates publication or affects the render.

Editorial metadata for Mozambique
FieldValue
trust.lawyer_review.statusnever_reviewed
trust.lawyer_review.reviewernot recorded
trust.content_sourceai_generated

Provenance and declared absence

Disclosure model: module cards load OPEN; standing positions render in full; sub-briefs and jurisdiction briefs load as a clamped teaser with an explicit “read full” control carrying the true word count; earlier updates stay collapsed behind a counted summary. No text is hidden without disclosing how much of it there is.

Sentinel-fed modules receive no special rendering treatment. sentinel_feed is an attribution chip only: it does not suppress content, does not generate an absence reason code, and does not exclude the module from any count, filter, search index or export on this page.

Family taxonomy is renderer-level presentation config, not a JID field. Colour is always duplicated in text and is never the sole carrier of meaning.

Suppressed by doctrine: derived risk score; per-module RAG traffic light; derived_scores = {"legal_accessibility": {"per_product": {"account_to_account": "regulated", "cards": "regulated"}}}.

Band honesty: uncertainty bands are computed against a frozen build clock of 2026-09-11. A year-precision row is never promoted into a tighter band.

Orphan deltas: 0 cycle_delta row(s) target non-module objects and are listed in the rail rather than attached to a card.

Envelope: baseline resolved at jurisdiction_json.baseline; 14 module(s), 72 finding(s), 132 source(s) in the cumulative register.