PL · run world-payments-2026-06-27 v13.3.0
content: ai_generated 98 sources retrieved model claude-opus-4-8 ·

Poland

PL schema world-payments-v1 trajectory: not recorded

Last updated · 14 modules · 63 sourced findings · 98 sources in the cumulative register

14Modulesbaseline.modules[]
63Findingsmodules[].findings[]
26Tier-1 sourcesrun_metadata.t1_source_count
Confidence mix (sums to 14 rendered modules; click to filter)

Jurisdiction brief

Lead Signal

Poland's Payment Services Act has been amended (Journal of Laws 2026, item 623) to implement SEPA Instant, introduce access-to-payment-systems and client-funds-protection provisions, and grant KNF (the Financial Supervision Authority) new reporting and sanctioning powers over payment service providers. The amendment is corroborated by a Tier-1-sourced Polish legal-practitioner analysis, though its substantive provisions — the SEPA Instant mechanics, the client-funds-protection regime, and the new KNF reporting/sanction elements — enter into force from 2027 rather than immediately. The practical effect is that Poland is front-loading national conduct and enforcement infrastructure ahead of the broader EU-wide PSD3/PSR transposition, positioning KNF with stronger enforcement tools before the EU framework itself lands. This front-loading pattern is significant for market-entry and compliance-planning purposes: payment institutions and electronic money institutions operating in or into Poland should expect KNF's conduct and reporting toolkit to expand materially in the 2027 window, ahead of rather than simultaneously with the equivalent EU-wide PSD3/PSR provisions. Alongside this, Polish PSPs, as operators in a non-euro EU Member State, face 2027 compliance deadlines under the Instant Payments Regulation for instant-transfer, equal-charges and Verification-of-Payee obligations, plus a further 9 June 2028 deadline for enabling out-of-hours sending from national-currency accounts.

14 of 14 modules
Signal
Density

Selections OR within a group, AND across groups. Press / to search.

#

Poland has missed the 1 July 2026 MiCA deadline to designate a national competent authority for crypto-asset market supervision. KNF continues to appear on ESMA's competent-authority list without formal powers, acting only under limited cross-border-notification provisions, pending the still-unenacted domestic Act on the crypto-assets market. Per KNF's own statement, domestic entities now risk losing the ability to provide crypto-asset services under Article 143(3) MiCA until the Act is passed and a competent authority is designated. The EBA additionally confirms the PSD2/MiCA transitional no-action period for e-money-token-transacting CASPs ended 2 March 2026, shifting PSD2 authorisation supervisory expectations for a specified CASP subset onto KNF.

Movement — CHANGEDtighteningModule trajectory tightened due to compounding licensing/market-access risk.
Key judgment — Confirmed · impact CRITICALPoland's continued failure to designate a MiCA competent authority creates near-term legal risk that domestic crypto-asset service providers lose the ability to operate lawfully absent authorisation, with no confirmed enactment date for the remedial Act.claims: wpm-2026-W1a-001, wpm-2026-W1a-002, wpm-2026-W1a-003
Key judgment — High · impact HIGHThe EBA's confirmation that the PSD2/MiCA transitional no-action period ended 2 March 2026 pushes supervisory burden onto KNF for a subset of e-money-token CASPs, compounding the existing competent-authority gap.claims: wpm-2026-W1a-004
Open gap — wpm-int-3No confirmed enactment date exists yet for the Polish Act on the crypto-assets market that would designate KNF as MiCA competent authority; no regulatory_horizon item could be responsibly extracted absent a stated date.Private-company signals under-indexed this cycle.
Standing sub-brief509 words · last cycle wpm-2026-09-08

Licensing, Authorisation & Market Access

Poland's Payment Services Act has been amended via Journal of Laws 2026, item 623, introducing access-to-payment-systems provisions, client-funds-protection requirements, SEPA Instant implementation, and new KNF reporting and sanction powers. This is a Tier-1-sourced, high-confidence finding, corroborated by a Polish legal-practitioner analysis describing the amendment's scope in detail. Critically, the substantive changes — the SEPA Instant mechanics, the client-funds-protection regime, and the new KNF reporting and sanction provisions — enter into force from 2027 rather than on passage, meaning the amendment's practical market-access effect is prospective. Firms planning market entry or expansion in Poland over the next 12-24 months should treat 2027 as the operative compliance horizon for these specific provisions rather than the amendment's nominal enactment date.

Periodic update · new data 2026-09-08 · run wpm-2026-09-08

Licensing, Authorisation & Market Access

Poland's crypto-asset licensing position tightened this cycle. KNF confirmed it has missed the 1 July 2026 deadline to designate a national MiCA competent authority, continuing to appear on ESMA's competent-authority list without the formal powers designation would confer. In the interim, KNF operates only under limited cross-border-notification provisions, pending the still-unenacted domestic Act on the crypto-assets market. This finding is Confirmed-confidence and assessed at CRITICAL impact, reflecting direct risk to Polish crypto-asset businesses' ability to operate and to market entrants' licensing-timeline assessments.

KNF's own statement draws a stark consequence: domestic entities will lose the ability to provide crypto-asset services under Article 143(3) of MiCA absent authorisation, because the Regulation's transitional deadline cannot be extended nationally. This is a newly surfaced episode this cycle, converting an administrative delay into an imminent compliance-and-continuity risk for payments and crypto businesses active in Poland. Both findings concern non-bank payment-institution and e-money-institution-licensed crypto-asset service providers specifically, rather than bank-PSPs, since it is the CASP authorisation track under MiCA that is affected.

The pending Polish draft Act on the crypto-assets market would designate KNF as competent authority, but KNF's own supervisory blog indicates the draft would not delegate powers beyond the MiCA Article 111(6) minimum. That is a materially narrower mandate than the equivalent implementing law already adopted in Estonia. The narrow drafting signals KNF is likely to have fewer supervisory tools than peer regulators even once the Act is enacted, a factor relevant to market-access risk assessments. No enactment date for the Act has been confirmed.

A fourth development compounds the exposure. The European Banking Authority confirmed that the EU-wide PSD2/MiCA transitional no-action period for e-money-token-transacting CASPs, set by the EBA's No-Action Letter of 2 June 2025, ended on 2 March 2026. This shifts PSD2 authorisation supervisory expectations for a specified CASP subset onto national competent authorities including KNF, adding a new national compliance workstream for affected entities. This is again a non-bank PI/EMI-track authorisation question, concerning the PSD2 licensing status of a CASP subset rather than the bank-licensing perimeter.

Outlook

The determinative marker to watch is the enactment date of the Polish Act that would designate KNF as MiCA competent authority; until it passes, the Article 143(3) service-continuity risk persists with no confirmed timeline. A second marker is further EBA or KNF guidance on PSD2 authorisation for the e-money-token-transacting CASP subset now that the transitional period has closed.

1 further periodic run re-emitted the standing brief unchanged and is not shown.

Sources and findings (5)
  1. T1https://www.knf.gov.pl/en/CONSUMERS/POLISH_FINANCIAL_SUPERVISION_AUTHORITY
  2. T3https://globallawexperts.com/how-to-get-a-psd2-license/
  3. T3https://www.dudkowiak.com/fintech-in-poland/small-payment-institution/
  4. T3https://www.dudkowiak.com/fintech-in-poland/small-payment-institution-vs-authorised-payment-institution-in-poland/
  5. T3https://finance.yahoo.com/news/provident-polska-secures-full-payment-093000380.html

#

Conduct/safeguarding obligations flow from the UUP (PSD2/EMD transposition) under KNF supervision. PSPs must safeguard client funds (segregated accounts / equivalent), maintain AML compliance functions, hold civil-liability insurance/guarantee for PIS, and meet SCA technical standards. MIPs are reporting-obliged to KNF, GIIF, the Financial Ombudsman and KIR. Fit-and-proper governance was tightened post-2023 and again under the 2026 amendment.

Horizon · 2026-Q2 (±quarter)Poland 2026 Payment Systems Amendment entry into force (direct access / instant euro)adopted · T3
Standing sub-brief349 words · last cycle wpm-2026-09-05

Conduct, Safeguarding & Financial Promotions

The same 2026 Payment Services Act amendment (Journal of Laws 2026, item 623) that introduces SEPA Instant also grants KNF new powers to impose severe penalties for breaches of the instant-payments provisions. This is a high-confidence, Tier-1-sourced finding: the amendment explicitly strengthens KNF's conduct-oversight and sanctioning toolkit specifically in relation to instant-payments compliance, ahead of the broader EU-wide PSD3/PSR framework, which is itself in train and will place heavier obligations on KNF for fraud-data exchange and cross-sectoral cooperation once it lands, while also extending full payment-institution-scope regulation to electronic money institutions for the first time.

No new data since the standing brief. 1 periodic run re-emitted it unchanged.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T3https://advapay.eu/emoney-and-payment-institution-licensing/payment-institution-license-in-poland/
  2. T3https://malainstytucjaplatnicza-mip.pl/en/
  3. T3https://www.dudkowiak.com/fintech-in-poland/small-payment-institution/
  4. T3https://globallawexperts.com/how-to-get-a-psd2-license/

#

UUP e-money regime stable (EMI EUR350k; KIP e-money up to EUR5m/month, PL territory only). Crypto-Asset Market Act (MiCA transposition) vetoed 1 Dec 2025, re-passed by Sejm 19 Dec 2025 to Senate — national CASP authorisation pathway UNCERTAIN through mid-2026, not closed by veto. MiCA applies as EU law; payment-rail e-money unaffected.

Horizon · 2026-H2 (±half_year)Poland Crypto-Asset Market Act (MiCA transposition) final legislative resolutionconsultation · T3
Standing sub-brief244 words · last cycle wpm-2026-06-27

Stablecoins & Digital Money

The domestic e-money regime under UUP Section VIIA is stable. A domestic EMI requires EUR350,000 initial capital under Art.132b(1) UUP and may provide payment services without limit; a KIP may issue e-money only up to EUR5,000,000 average monthly value and only within Polish territory under Art.73a(2) and Art.91 UUP, with e-money defined under Art.2(21a) UUP. These issuance limits determine whether a payments operator must hold full EMI status or can issue under a KIP up to the EUR5m monthly territorial cap.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T3https://www.dudkowiak.com/fintech-in-poland/electronic-money-institution/
  2. T3https://orugagroup.com/en/insights/e-money-license-in-poland.html
  3. T3https://crassula.io/guides/licenses/poland-knf-payment/
  4. T3https://www.dudkowiak.com/fintech-in-poland/small-payment-institution-vs-authorised-payment-institution-in-poland/

#

Resilience rests on EU DORA (directly applicable) plus NBP oversight of systemically important payment systems and KNF supervision. Critical retail infrastructure (Elixir, Express Elixir, BLIK) is overseen by NBP under the Settlement Finality Act and CPMI-IOSCO PFMI. KIR guarantees 24/7/365 availability of Express Elixir. Cyber resilience is under heightened pressure: a November 2025 cyberattack disrupted BLIK, framed by officials as part of hybrid-warfare risk amid the Ukraine war.

Standing sub-brief240 words · last cycle wpm-2026-06-27

Operational Resilience & Critical Infrastructure

The resilience baseline rests on NBP and EU instruments. NBP (Narodowy Bank Polski) oversees systemically important payment systems — BLIK, Express Elixir and BlueCash — under the Act of 24 August 2001 on Settlement Finality and the Act of 19 August 2011 on Payment Services, applying the CPMI-IOSCO PFMI. EU DORA is directly applicable to the Polish payments sector. Together, DORA and NBP/CPMI-IOSCO oversight set the resilience compliance baseline for any operator touching Polish systemically important infrastructure, applying across both bank and non-bank participants.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T1https://nbp.pl/wp-content/uploads/2023/04/Payment-system-in-Poland-2019.pdf
  2. T2https://www.kir.pl/en/our-products/clients/clearing/express-elixir
  3. T3https://therecord.media/poland-hacks-loan-platform-mobile-payments-system-travel-agency
  4. T3https://architectureofsales.com/fintech-market-in-poland/

#

Card-scheme rules (Visa/Mastercard) bind acquirers and merchants, layered over the EU Interchange Fee Regulation (EU) 2015/751 (0.2% debit / 0.3% credit consumer caps) and Poland's earlier domestic statutory caps embedded in the UUP. Poland pre-empted the EU by legislating a 0.5% domestic cap (Jan 2014) cut to 0.2%/0.3% from 29 January 2015. PCI DSS applies via scheme rules; eService holds PCI P2PE certification. Surcharging is constrained by PSD2/IFR. BLIK and instant rails sit outside card-scheme economics.

Standing sub-brief143 words · last cycle wpm-2026-06-27

Scheme & Network Compliance

Interchange economics in Poland are settled and confirmed. EU IFR (EU) 2015/751 caps interchange at 0.2% debit and 0.3% credit for consumer cards. Poland pre-empted the EU with a 0.5% domestic cap in force from 1 January 2014 via a Payment Services Act amendment, then cut it to 0.2%/0.3% from 29 January 2015 by the Act of 28 November 2014, which also added acquirer pre-contractual disclosure duties. These caps apply across both bank and non-bank issuers and acquirers.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T1https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/HTML/?uri=CELEX:32015R0751
  2. T3https://codozasady.pl/en/p/new-statutory-reduction-of-interchange-fees-important-regulations-also-for-acquirers
  3. T3https://www.lexology.com/library/detail.aspx?g=1e5c3fd6-4226-42a1-b969-e50f5ff941b8
  4. T3https://www.eservice.pl/en/aktualnosci/eservice-operates-more-than-530-thousand-terminals-in-poland-and-europe

#

Domestic rails are PLN-centric: Elixir (deferred net, three daily sessions, settled in SORBNET2) and Express Elixir (instant, 24/7, settled via NBP). Euro Elixir is the SEPA channel, connected to STEP2 and settled over TARGET2, with Euro Express Elixir built for SCT Inst via TIPS. BLIK overlays Express Elixir for P2P/e-commerce. As a non-euro EU member Poland sits within SEPA but retains the zloty; cross-border euro flows route through Euro Elixir/TARGET2.

Standing sub-brief164 words · last cycle wpm-2026-06-27

Payment Corridor Dynamics

Poland's domestic and SEPA rail architecture is well-established. Elixir runs deferred-net clearing in three daily sessions, settled in SORBNET2, for PLN. Express Elixir is the instant system — 24/7/365, launched June 2012 and settled via NBP SORBNET2, notable as Europe's second instant system after the UK Faster Payments Service. Euro Elixir routes SEPA via STEP2/TARGET2, and Euro Express Elixir routes SCT Inst via TIPS; BLIK overlays Express Elixir. Poland is a non-euro EU member within SEPA, retaining the zloty.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T3https://mambu.com/en/insights/articles/payment-systems-poland
  2. T3https://www.europeanpaymentscouncil.eu/news-insights/insight/polish-payment-landscape-modern-payments-approach
  3. T1https://fastpayments.worldbank.org/sites/default/files/2021-09/World_Bank_FPS_Poland_Express_Elixir_Case_Study.pdf
  4. T3https://practiceguides.chambers.com/practice-guides/fintech-2025/poland/trends-and-developments

#

Poland is one of Europe's most dynamic payment markets, ~100% contactless, with strong instant-payment/BLIK adoption displacing cards in e-commerce. The acquiring market is heavily consolidated: top-5 banks/acquirers account for ~80% of their markets. Key players include Nexi/Nets (Przelewy24, Dotpay, eCard, Polskie ePłatności/PeP), Fiserv, EVO (PKO BP eService), Elavon, Worldline, with domestic Bank Pekao and ITCARD-Planet Pay. A skilled, lower-cost tech workforce underpins the fintech hub.

Standing sub-brief173 words · last cycle wpm-2026-06-27

Industry Structure & Commercial

The Polish market is structurally consolidated on the acquiring side, with the top-5 banks and acquirers holding roughly 80% of their markets. Key players include Nexi/Nets (Przelewy24, Dotpay, eCard, PeP), Fiserv, EVO (PKO BP eService), Elavon, Worldline, Bank Pekao and ITCARD-Planet Pay. Warsaw hosted 345 fintechs as of July 2025, of which 98 were funded and 35 at Series A or beyond. In 2024 the market saw more than 15.4bn transactions — roughly 420 per capita, up 12% year-on-year — with cards around 65% of volume and the remainder mainly BLIK and transfers; the market is effectively 100% contactless.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T3https://thepaypers.com/payments/expert-views/poland-a-complete-overview-of-payments-and-ecommerce-trends-and-figures
  2. T3https://www.globallegalinsights.com/practice-areas/fintech-laws-and-regulations/poland/
  3. T2https://www.trade.gov/market-intelligence/poland-financial-services-fintech-market
  4. T3https://thepaypers.com/payments/expert-views/poland-a-complete-overview-of-payments-and-ecommerce-trends-and-figures

Payments-relevant enforcement runs through UOKiK (competition/consumer collective-interests) and the courts. UOKiK can fine for collective-consumer-interest infringements and apply public-compensation remedies (confirmed admissible by the Supreme Court, 12 June 2024). Interchange litigation history (Visa/Mastercard MIF proceedings before the OCCP) shaped the statutory caps. Late-payment enforcement against corporates is an active UOKiK workstream. KNF runs an AML supervisory and disciplinary function.

Open gap — wpm-int-2No litigation/legal-infrastructure signal surfaced for Poland this cycle; W7 remains uncovered.Legal infrastructure and payments litigation are fleet-flagged under-indexed vectors; recommend a dedicated search next cycle for PL.
Standing sub-brief138 words · last cycle wpm-2026-06-27

Legal & Litigation

The litigation environment sharpened in the period. On 12 June 2024 the Polish Supreme Court confirmed that UOKiK may use the public-compensation instrument in collective-consumer-interest cases. In 2025 UOKiK issued nearly 1,000 decisions with more than PLN1bn in fines, including financial-sector action, and consumer benefits of at least PLN160m. It also runs an active late-payment enforcement workstream, with 12 decisions and more than PLN3.2m in 2025.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T3https://cms.law/en/pol/legal-updates/polish-supreme-court-confirms-admissibility-of-public-compensation-in-consumer-cases
  2. T1https://uokik.gov.pl/en/uokik-in-2025-nearly-a-thousand-decisions-over-one-billion-zlotys-in-fines
  3. T3http://payment-law.eu/en/articles/cap-on-eu-interchange-fees-new-regulation-published/
  4. T1https://uokik.gov.pl/en/late-payments-more-businesses-under-scrutiny-by-uokik

#

Acquiring is consolidated and operationally mature, dominated by Nexi/Nets-owned PeP, eService (PKO/EVO, largest in CEE), PayU and Przelewy24/Autopay for e-commerce. Merchant onboarding, chargeback/dispute and high-risk-MCC handling run through scheme rules incorporated into acquirer agreements, layered over the IFR and UUP acquirer pre-contractual disclosure duties. SoftPOS/PIN-on-glass and all-in-one fiscal-ECR devices are emerging. PeP and eService operate large terminal estates (250k+ and 530k+ respectively).

Open gap — wpm-int-6W8 merchant-acquiring/high-risk-MCC enforcement vector was searched but no material Polish-specific event surfaced this cycle.Private-company and outbound-expansion signals under-indexed per methodology §11 bias correction.
Standing sub-brief149 words · last cycle wpm-2026-06-27

Merchant Acquiring & Risk

Merchant acquiring is dominated by Nexi/Nets-owned PeP — the second-largest terminal operator, having consolidated Kolporter, PayUp, PayLane, BillBird and TopCard and joined Nets Group in October 2020 — and by eService, the largest in CEE with 532,400 terminals across 11 countries, more than PLN271bn settled and PCI P2PE certification. Scheme rules incorporated into acquirer agreements cover chargebacks, 3DS/SCA, high-risk MCC and surcharging, layered over IFR and UUP acquirer disclosure duties. SoftPOS/PIN-on-glass and software-fiscal-ECR capability are emerging.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T3https://pep.pl/en/about-us/
  2. T3https://www.eservice.pl/en/aktualnosci/eservice-operates-more-than-530-thousand-terminals-in-poland-and-europe
  3. T3https://www.pxp.io/payments-glossary/card-scheme-rules
  4. T3https://thepaypers.com/payments/expert-views/poland-a-complete-overview-of-payments-and-ecommerce-trends-and-figures

#

Poland is a product-innovation leader: BLIK (2015, Polski Standard Płatności) dominates e-commerce, added contactless NFC and is internationalising (Revolut integration Nov 2024, EuroPA letter of intent May 2025). Open banking under PSD2 is built out via KNF's Innovation Hub and Virtual Sandbox (2020) testing PIS/AIS/CAF. BNPL is growing. No live statutory regulatory sandbox yet exists despite the testing environment.

Standing sub-brief276 words · last cycle wpm-2026-09-05

Product Innovation & Market Development

Poland's KSeF e-invoicing system is being phased in from February and April 2026 for business-to-business transactions settled via ELIXIR bank transfer, mandating electronic invoicing for a defined category of B2B payment flows. This finding rests on a single lower-tier source this cycle and is treated with correspondingly limited confidence; the phase-in dates and scope should be treated as provisional pending stronger primary-source corroboration.

No new data since the standing brief. 1 periodic run re-emitted it unchanged.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T3https://www.blik.com/media/2025_03_12_EY_BLIK_payments_and_economy_report.pdf
  2. T3https://resourcehub.bakermckenzie.com/en/resources/global-financial-services-regulatory-guide/europe-middle-east-and-africa/poland/topics/what-are-the-requirements-to-obtain-authorization-in-your-jurisdiction
  3. T3https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blik
  4. T3https://www.globallegalinsights.com/practice-areas/fintech-laws-and-regulations/poland/

#

Consumer protection runs through UOKiK (collective interests, abusive clauses, fines, public compensation), the Financial Ombudsman (individual complaint redress and litigation), and a network of municipal/district consumer ombudsmen plus ADR (KNF Arbitration Court, Bank Consumer Arbitration). Poland has NO UK-style statutory mandatory APP-fraud reimbursement regime; BLIK social-engineering scams are addressed through operator/bank fraud detection, education campaigns and case-by-case redress rather than a reimbursement mandate.

Standing sub-brief142 words · last cycle wpm-2026-06-27

Consumer Protection & APP Fraud

Poland has no UK-style statutory mandatory APP-fraud reimbursement regime. BLIK social-engineering scams — for example ATM one-time-code fraud — are addressed via operator and bank real-time monitoring, education campaigns and case-by-case redress rather than a reimbursement mandate. Consumer protection runs through UOKiK on collective interests, fines and public compensation; the Financial Ombudsman on individual redress and litigation; and ADR via the KNF Arbitration Court and Bank Consumer Arbitration.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T1https://www.knf.gov.pl/en/CONSUMERS/Where_to_seek_assistance_in_case_of_dispute_with_a_financial_institution
  2. T1https://uokik.gov.pl/en/consumer-protection
  3. T3https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blik
  4. T1https://www.knf.gov.pl/en/Campaigns/Cyber_enabled_investment_scams

#

Sentinel position (payments context only): Poland's AML/CFT regime is anchored in the Act of 1 March 2018 (implementing EU AMLDs), with the General Inspector of Financial Information (GIIF) as FIU and KNF as sector supervisor for payment institutions, EMIs and SPIs. Payment institutions are obliged institutions with CDD, STR/threshold (EUR15,000) reporting, tipping-off ban and UBO-register duties. NIK assessed 2022–H1 2024 system effectiveness as insufficient. The EU AMLR/AMLD6/AMLA package is reshaping the framework.

Open gap — wpm-int-4W11 Sentinel.gi feed was not queryable this run; the AML/CFT surface for Poland remains uncovered by this cycle's research.Financial-promotion enforcement and Consumer-Duty-equivalent conduct detail under-indexed for PL; no dedicated promotions-approver regime evidenced.
Horizon · 2027 (±year)EU AMLR/AMLD6/AMLA package application to Polish payment institutionsin_force_pending · T3
Horizon · 2027 (±year)EU AMLR/AMLD6/AMLA package application to Polish payment institutionsin_force_pending · T3
Standing sub-brief201 words · last cycle wpm-2026-06-27

AML/CFT & Financial Crime (Sentinel-fed)

This module is sourced from the Sentinel.gi feed; WPM carries the Sentinel finding only and does not re-analyse illicit finance. Per the Sentinel feed, Poland's AML/CFT regime is anchored in the Act of 1 March 2018 implementing the EU AMLDs, with GIIF as FIU and KNF as sector supervisor for payment institutions, EMIs and SPIs — all obliged institutions subject to risk-based CDD, STR and threshold reporting above EUR15,000, the tipping-off ban and the UBO register. NIK assessed the system insufficient over 1 January 2022 to 30 June 2024, citing GIIF fine-proceeding delays of around 360 days and a National Risk Assessment not produced until November 2023. The EU AMLR/AMLD6/AMLA (Frankfurt) package is reshaping the framework, and GIIF/KNF can fine up to PLN21.5m or 10% of turnover. (Source: Sentinel.gi)

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (10)
  1. T3https://www.accace.com/aml-compliance-in-poland/
  2. T?FIM (sentinel.gi) per-JID baseline profile — Poland — Poland's AML/CFT regime rests on the 2018 AML/CFT Act (transposing 5AMLD), supervised by GIIF (FIU, Ministry of Finance) and KNF for the financial sector. MONEYVAL's 2021 MER found largely-compliant technical standing with effectiveness gaps in DNFBP supervision, legal-person risk understanding, and VASP-specific oversight; incremental re-ratings continue through 2023-2025 follow-up reports.
  3. T?FIM (sentinel.gi) gaps_register_cumulative (issue FIM-BASE-GAP-004) — Gap: sourcing-thinness
  4. T1FIM (sentinel.gi) enforcement_action_register (issue FIM-BASE-ENF-003) — Enforcement: EPPO / OLAF — Criminal network exploiting Polish-Belarusian border transit-fraud scheme
  5. T1FIM (sentinel.gi) sanctions_change_register (issue FIM-BASE-SANC-002) — Sanctions: EU listing
  6. T2FIM (sentinel.gi) enforcement_action_register (issue FIM-BASE-ENF-001) — Enforcement: Polish National Revenue Administration (KAS) — Belarusian-owned car trading company (south-eastern Poland)
  7. T2FIM (sentinel.gi) enforcement_action_register (issue FIM-BASE-ENF-004) — Enforcement: Polish Central Anti-Corruption Bureau (CBA) — Kraków court officials and associated shell-company network
  8. T1FIM (sentinel.gi) sanctions_change_register (issue FIM-BASE-SANC-003) — Sanctions: OFSI listing
  9. T?FIM (sentinel.gi) gaps_register_cumulative (issue FIM-BASE-GAP-002) — Gap: legal-gap
  10. T?FIM (sentinel.gi) gaps_register_cumulative (issue FIM-BASE-GAP-003) — Gap: capacity-deficit

#

NBP operates SORBNET2 (PLN RTGS, bank-only direct access) and TARGET-NBP (euro, joined 19 May 2008). SORBNET2 account is a prerequisite for Elixir; non-bank PIs/EMIs gain indirect access via vIBAN/sponsor arrangements under PSD2 Art.35(2). 2026 Payment Systems Amendment may open direct access. Settlement finality under the 2001 Act.

Open gap — wpm-int-5W12 correspondent-banking/access vector was searched but no material Polish-specific event surfaced this cycle.Primary statutory/regulator sourcing under-indexed relative to specialist-intelligence aggregators.
Standing sub-brief170 words · last cycle wpm-2026-06-27

Correspondent Banking, Settlement & Access

The analytical spine of this module is the bank versus non-bank access asymmetry. NBP operates SORBNET2 (PLN RTGS) and TARGET2-NBP/TARGET-NBP for the euro leg, Poland having joined on 19 May 2008. Direct SORBNET2 participation is reserved for banks and, by NBP President approval, other legal entities; non-direct banks clear via a correspondent. A SORBNET2 current account is a prerequisite for Elixir participation, so non-bank PIs and EMIs obtain indirect access via vIBAN/sponsor arrangements, subject to PSD2 Art.35(2) non-discriminatory access to designated systems. Settlement finality runs under the 2001 Act.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T1https://nbp.pl/wp-content/uploads/2024/03/SORBNET2-Rules-of-the-system-operation-13.03.2024.pdf
  2. T3https://www.mdpi.com/1911-8074/15/12/566
  3. T1https://nbp.pl/wp-content/uploads/2023/04/Payment-system-in-Poland-2019.pdf
  4. T3https://www.mdpi.com/1911-8074/15/12/566

#

Trailing-12-month commercial activity (run date 2026-06-27): continued fintech consolidation and international expansion. Provident Polska secured a full KIP licence (Dec 2025). Polish payment firms (BLIK/PSP, Autopay/ex-Blue Media, Zen.com) are pushing abroad, with Autopay opening offices in São Paulo, Singapore, Madrid and Milan and entering bank-distributed eSIM in 2025. Venture activity rebounded in late 2024/2025; 142 startups raised ~EUR494m in 2024.

Movement — CHANGEDmaterial_changeFour new commercial events surfaced this cycle.
Key judgment — Assessed · impact ELEVATEDBLIK's cross-border expansion into Slovak ecommerce and its enablement for AI-agent/ChatGPT billing signal accelerating commercial diversification of Poland's dominant domestic payment scheme, independent of the regulatory licensing overhang.claims: wpm-2026-W13-001, wpm-2026-W13-002, wpm-2026-W13-003
Open gap — wpm-int-1The Finextra source backing the EIF/BGK fintech-fund finding returned HTTP 403 (blocked) on live egress this cycle; the quoted figures were carried from upstream research without live re-verification and should be re-confirmed next cycle.Operational-resilience incident detail under-indexed: research relied on a single T3 source that does not substantiate the BLIK November timing.
Standing sub-brief265 words · last cycle wpm-2026-09-08

Commercial Intelligence (M&A, Investment & Product)

Two discrete commercial events are carried this cycle. First, Provident Polska (an International Personal Finance subsidiary) secured a full KIP licence from KNF enabling credit-card issuance, unlimited payment services and EEA passporting, removing prior SPI transaction limits. This is recorded as a completed strategic investment-type event involving Provident Polska, International Personal Finance and KNF, with the amount not publicly disclosed. The date is contested: research output cited December 2025, while a secondary T3 source (Sharecast/IPF) reports the licence was announced 11 November 2024, the Yahoo article of 10 December 2025 appearing to re-publish the earlier announcement. The event illustrates the live Polish fintech path from domestic-capped SPI to full passportable PI status.

Periodic update · new data 2026-09-08 · run wpm-2026-09-08

Commercial Intelligence (M&A / Investment / Product)

Four discrete commercial events surfaced for Poland this cycle, concentrated in BLIK's expanding commercial footprint and Poland's fintech investment pipeline.

BLIK went live in Slovak ecommerce via Tatry Mountain Resorts' booking platform, using the BLIK SK entity, marking the first practical implementation of BLIK's announced euro-area cross-border expansion and its first live merchant integration outside Poland. This is a completed product-release event; commercial terms were not disclosed. The move tests the cross-border expansion thesis and BLIK SK's viability as a distinct legal and operating entity, and underlies a new corridor-tracker entry marking Poland-Slovakia payment access as opening.

PPRO announced a partnership with BLIK to develop agentic-commerce capability, purchases initiated by AI agents, for local payments in Poland. This is an announced partnership rather than a completed deployment; no financial terms were disclosed. It positions BLIK as a first-mover local payment method in AI-agent-initiated commerce and is framed by the parties as a template PPRO may extend to other domestic payment methods, relevant to future orchestration and API partnership deal flow.

BLIK Recurring Payments, available at eight Polish banks, posted a 127% year-on-year increase in transaction volume and an increase of close to three times in transaction value in the first quarter of 2026, and was subsequently enabled, via Stripe, for OpenAI's ChatGPT subscription billing. This is a completed product expansion, evidencing rapid uptake of BLIK's recurring-payments rail and its extension into subscription billing for a major global AI consumer platform, read as evidence of growing account-to-account share of recurring and subscription payment flows in Poland.

The European Investment Fund and Polish development bank BGK launched a further €30m tranche of a fintech-focused venture fund, part of the Future Tech Poland programme, which has now deployed more than €130m into Poland's fintech sector; the tranche is managed by Inovo.vc and targets early-stage Central and Eastern European startups. This event carries lower confidence this cycle: the primary source returned a blocked live fetch, so the figures are carried forward from prior research rather than freshly re-verified, and re-confirmation is flagged for the next cycle. Subject to that caveat, the tranche adds to the venture-capital pipeline feeding Poland's fintech sector and is relevant to future investment and M&A deal-flow assessments.

Taken together, these four events mark a material change on the Commercial Intelligence tracker for Poland this cycle, evidencing accelerating commercial diversification of Poland's dominant domestic payment scheme that proceeds independently of the regulatory licensing overhang described in the Licensing, Authorisation & Market Access module.

Outlook

The events to track forward are whether BLIK's Slovak integration extends to further euro-area markets, whether the PPRO agentic-commerce blueprint is replicated for other local payment methods, and whether BLIK Recurring's growth trajectory and its ChatGPT integration extend to further global consumer-platform partnerships. The EIF/BGK fund tranche also warrants follow-up confirmation given this cycle's blocked source access, before its figures are treated as fully verified.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T3https://finance.yahoo.com/news/provident-polska-secures-full-payment-093000380.html
  2. T3https://xyz.pl/poland-unpacked/can-polish-fintech-innovation-travel-autopay-thinks-so-1584/
  3. T3https://www.globallegalinsights.com/practice-areas/fintech-laws-and-regulations/poland/
  4. T3https://practiceguides.chambers.com/practice-guides/fintech-2025/poland/trends-and-developments
No modules match.

Filters combine as OR inside a group and AND across groups.

Editorial metadata

Provenance only. Nothing below gates publication or affects the render.

Editorial metadata for Poland
FieldValue
trust.lawyer_review.statusnever_reviewed
trust.lawyer_review.reviewernot recorded
trust.content_sourceai_generated

Provenance and declared absence

Disclosure model: module cards load OPEN; standing positions render in full; sub-briefs and jurisdiction briefs load as a clamped teaser with an explicit “read full” control carrying the true word count; earlier updates stay collapsed behind a counted summary. No text is hidden without disclosing how much of it there is.

Sentinel-fed modules receive no special rendering treatment. sentinel_feed is an attribution chip only: it does not suppress content, does not generate an absence reason code, and does not exclude the module from any count, filter, search index or export on this page.

Family taxonomy is renderer-level presentation config, not a JID field. Colour is always duplicated in text and is never the sole carrier of meaning.

Suppressed by doctrine: derived risk score; per-module RAG traffic light; derived_scores = {"legal_accessibility": {"per_product": {"account_to_account": "regulated"}}}.

Band honesty: uncertainty bands are computed against a frozen build clock of 2026-09-09. A year-precision row is never promoted into a tighter band.

Orphan deltas: 9 cycle_delta row(s) target non-module objects and are listed in the rail rather than attached to a card.

Envelope: baseline resolved at jurisdiction_json.baseline; 14 module(s), 63 finding(s), 109 source(s) in the cumulative register.