US-CT · run world-payments-2026-07-04 v13.3.0
content: ai_generated 119 sources retrieved model claude-sonnet-5 ·

United States – Connecticut

US-CT schema world-payments-v1 trajectory: not recorded

Last updated · 14 modules · 60 sourced findings · 119 sources in the cumulative register

14Modulesbaseline.modules[]
60Findingsmodules[].findings[]
39Tier-1 sourcesrun_metadata.t1_source_count
Confidence mix (sums to 14 rendered modules; click to filter)
No modules moved this cycle.

Jurisdiction brief

Lead Signal

Connecticut's Public Act 25-66, effective October 1 2025, materially tightens the conduct and safeguarding layer of the state's money-transmission regime, restricting unauthorised use of customer virtual currency, narrowing custody delegation to licensed or Commissioner-approved third parties, constraining FDIC-insurance-related promotional claims to genuinely insured deposit accounts, and adding parental-verification and data-deletion requirements for minors' money-sharing apps. The measure extends the state's existing kiosk-style virtual-currency custody, disclosure, fee-cap and daily-limit regime to digital-wallet-based virtual currency transmission, while separately barring Connecticut government acceptance of or investment in virtual currency. The tightening is not merely legislative: in March 2026 the Department of Banking summarily suspended a virtual-currency kiosk operator's money-transmitter licence and issued a Temporary Cease and Desist for exceeding the statutory 15% kiosk fee cap and daily transaction limits, ordering restitution of consumer scam losses and disgorgement of unsafe-practice revenue -- the first observed use of emergency-suspension power against a Connecticut kiosk operator and a signal that the Digital Assets Act consumer-protection regime now carries active enforcement teeth behind it.

14 of 14 modules
Signal
Density

Selections OR within a group, AND across groups. Press / to search.

#

Connecticut operates one of the most comprehensive state virtual-currency-inclusive money-transmission frameworks in the US under Conn. Gen. Stat. §§36a-595 et seq. PA 24-146 (2024) brought kiosk operators under licensure; PA 25-66 (2025) extended coverage to digital wallets and imposed custody/disclosure standards; HB7082 (2026) bars state entities from virtual-currency payments.

Standing sub-brief251 words · last cycle wpm-2026-09-05

Licensing, Authorisation & Market Access

Connecticut operates a dual-track market-access regime. Money transmission activity connected to the state -- whether through a Connecticut place of business, receipt or transmission to or from a Connecticut person, or the sale or issuance of stored value or payment instruments in-state -- requires an NMLS-filed money transmitter licence under Conn. Gen. Stat. §36a-595 et seq.; the nexus test is broad, built on five alternative triggers, though federally insured banks and credit unions are exempt. This is the standard nonbank payment-institution/EMI-equivalent gate familiar from other US state regimes.

Periodic update · new data 2026-09-05 · run wpm-2026-08-25

Licensing, Authorisation & Market Access

Connecticut's Public Act 25-66 expands the Money Transmission Act's definitions of money transmission and stored value to expressly cover digital wallets and tokenized value, requiring licensure for wallet providers not otherwise exempt, effective October 1, 2025. The amendment also narrows permissible custody arrangements: any entity holding customer virtual currency on behalf of a licensed transmitter must itself be a licensed money transmitter, an FDIC-insured bank or credit union, or a Banking-Commissioner-approved third party. Together these provisions bring the wallet and custody layer of virtual-currency services within Connecticut's licensing perimeter in a way the prior statute did not clearly require.

The Department of Banking has followed the statutory expansion with active supervision. In March 2026 it summarily suspended a virtual-currency kiosk operator's money transmission license and issued a temporary cease-and-desist order for net-worth, fee-cap, and disclosure violations, signaling permanent revocation and civil penalties of up to $100,000 per violation. The enforcement action demonstrates that the licensing expansion is not merely definitional: examiners are applying it with real supervisory consequence within the same cycle the custody restrictions took hold, evidencing a bank-versus-nonbank access asymmetry in which only insured depositories, licensed transmitters, or commissioner-approved third parties may hold customer virtual currency.

Outlook

The near-term question is whether the Department of Banking proceeds to permanent revocation and assesses civil penalties against the suspended operator, and whether other Connecticut virtual-currency businesses adjust custody arrangements to comply with the new restrictions ahead of similarly active supervision. A pattern of enforcement against non-compliant kiosk operators is a plausible next development given the explicit, numerically defined thresholds the amended Act now provides for examiners to apply.

Sources and findings (6)
  1. T1https://portal.ct.gov/DOB/Consumer-Credit-Licensing-Info/Consumer-Credit-Licensing-Information/Money-Transmitter-Licensing-Information
  2. T1https://portal.ct.gov/DOB/Consumer-Credit-Licenses/Consumer-Credit-Licenses/Money-Transmitters-Licensed-in-Connecticut
  3. T1https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/dob/consumer-credit-licensing-info/department-of-banking-issues-consumer-and-industry-advisory-on-money-transmission.pdf
  4. T1https://portal.ct.gov/dob/financial-institutions-division/fid-applications/innovation-charter-application
  5. T3https://ctnewsjunkie.com/2024/09/27/connecticuts-fintech-hub-adds-second-innovation-bank/
  6. T3https://cornerstonelicensing.com/money-transmitter-laws/connecticut-money-transmitter-regulations/

#

Connecticut requires licensees to maintain permissible investments held in statutory trust for customers (PA 13-253); PA 25-66 (effective Oct 1 2025) narrows virtual-currency custody delegation, tightens FDIC-insurance-related promotional claims, and adds parental-verification/data-deletion safeguards for minors' money-sharing apps.

Standing sub-brief220 words · last cycle wpm-2026-09-05

Conduct, Safeguarding & Financial Promotions

Connecticut's conduct and safeguarding layer for money transmission licensees now sits on two pillars. The older pillar, dating to Public Act 13-253, deems permissible investments made under the money-transmission statute held in trust for claimants against the licensee by operation of law -- immune from creditor or judgment-creditor attachment even where commingled with other licensee assets, a core customer-fund-protection backstop functionally comparable to EU/UK safeguarding regimes.

Periodic update · new data 2026-09-05 · run wpm-2026-08-25

Conduct, Safeguarding & Financial Promotions

Connecticut's kiosk-specific conduct regime under Conn. Gen. Stat. Sec. 36a-613 requires a bolded warning, prior to a customer's first transaction, that losses from fraud or error may be unrecoverable and that virtual-currency transactions are irreversible, together with itemized receipt content requirements and a cap on kiosk transaction fees. The March 2026 Department of Banking enforcement bulletin found that a suspended kiosk operator breached the fee cap across more than 500 consumers and over 1,000 transactions, exceeded applicable daily transaction limits, and failed to refund new-customer fraud victims as the statute requires. This is not a novel rulemaking but a direct enforcement test of an existing conduct regime's fee-cap and fraud-refund provisions, and the finding indicates that at least one non-bank kiosk operator's conduct practices had diverged materially from the statutory baseline.

The enforcement record does not identify the operator, which limits the extent to which other market participants can benchmark their own practices against the specific facts, but the statutory provisions engaged -- the fee cap, the daily transaction limit, and the fraud-refund duty -- are each independently actionable grounds under the current statute, meaning a similar fact pattern at another operator would likely trigger a comparable response.

Outlook

Watch for whether the Department of Banking's enforcement approach extends to other Connecticut kiosk operators, given the numerically explicit and therefore readily auditable nature of the fee-cap and daily-limit thresholds. A broader compliance sweep of the kiosk sector is a plausible near-term development following this cycle's enforcement action.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T1https://www.cga.ct.gov/2013/act/pa/2013PA-00253-R00SB-00911-PA.htm
  2. T3https://www.shipkevich.com/connecticut-enacts-broad-amendments-to-money-transmission-law-targeting-virtual-currency-and-digital-assets/
  3. T3https://www.consumerfinanceandfintechblog.com/2025/07/connecticut-updates-money-transmission-law-to-cover-digital-wallets-and-virtual-currency/
  4. T3https://www.shipkevich.com/connecticut-enacts-broad-amendments-to-money-transmission-law-targeting-virtual-currency-and-digital-assets/

#

Connecticut treats virtual currency as within scope of money transmission (2017/2018 amendments), operates a distinct kiosk licensing/disclosure regime (Digital Assets Act) with 15% fee cap and daily limits actively enforced (Bulletin 3238, Mar 2026), and PA 25-66 (Oct 1 2025) extends custody/disclosure/fee/limit rules to digital-wallet-based virtual currency transmission while barring state government acceptance/investment in virtual currency.

Standing sub-brief206 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-08

Stablecoins & Digital Money

Connecticut treats virtual currency -- any digital medium of exchange, stored value, or payment-system-incorporated unit -- similarly to fiat under the money-transmission statute. Kiosk operators must hold a money transmitter licence subject to a 15% fee cap, daily transaction limits of $2,500 for general customers and $2,000 for new customers, mandatory disclosures, and new-customer fraud-refund duties. Public Act 25-66 extends analogous custody and disclosure duties to digital-wallet-based virtual currency transmission and separately bars Connecticut government acceptance of or investment in virtual currency, making Connecticut one of the more prescriptive US state-level virtual-currency consumer-protection regimes.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (6)
  1. T1https://portal.ct.gov/DOB/Consumer-Credit-Licensing-Info/Consumer-Credit-Licensing-Information/Virtual-Currency-MTRA-FAQs
  2. T3https://cryptoslate.com/crypto-laws/connecticut-digital-currency-kiosk-consumer-protection-regime/
  3. T1https://www.cga.ct.gov/2024/rpt/pdf/2024-R-0183.pdf
  4. T1https://legiscan.com/CT/text/HB07082/id/3253869/Connecticut-2025-HB07082-Chaptered.pdf
  5. T3https://moneytransmitterlaw.com/state-laws/connecticut/
  6. T1https://portal.ct.gov/dob/bulletin/2026/bulletin-3238-march-13-2026

#

Connecticut lacks a DORA-style dedicated payments operational-resilience regime; resilience obligations arise via the state's data-breach-notification statute, a NIST/ISO/CIS-based cybersecurity safe-harbor law, and PCI DSS as applied to any business handling card data, alongside sectoral (GLBA/NAIC) frameworks for financial institutions.

Horizon · 2026-Q2 (±half_year)Connecticut SB 117 massive-breach forensic-examination mandate (pending)proposed · TT3
Horizon · 2026-Q2 (±half_year)Connecticut SB 117 massive-breach forensic-examination mandate (pending)proposed · T
Standing sub-brief187 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-08

Operational Resilience & Critical Infrastructure

No DORA-equivalent payments-specific resilience regime exists in Connecticut. Entities owning, licensing, or maintaining Connecticut residents' computerised personal data must notify the Attorney General and affected residents without unreasonable delay, and no later than 60 days from discovery. Public Act 21-119 separately bars punitive damages absent gross negligence or wilful misconduct for entities that have implemented a qualifying cybersecurity framework -- NIST, FedRAMP, CIS, or PCI-DSS combined with another recognised standard. PCI DSS and the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act apply as industry and sectoral standards rather than a Connecticut-specific payments-resilience mandate, leaving general breach-notification law and the safe-harbor statute as the operative cross-sector backstop for payments firms.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T1https://portal.ct.gov/AG/General/Report-a-Breach-of-Security-Involving-Computerized-Data
  2. T3https://www.akingump.com/en/insights/blogs/ag-data-dive/connecticut-expands-breach-reporting-and-creates-cybersecurity-safe-harbor
  3. T4https://pivitstrategy.com/connecticut-cybersecurity-laws-you-should-know-2026/
  4. T3https://www.cyberadviserblog.com/2026/02/connecticut-senate-bill-raises-the-stakes-on-data-breach-response/

#

Connecticut is one of a small number of US states with an outright statutory ban on credit-card surcharging (Conn. Gen. Stat. §42-133ff), while permitting disclosed cash discounts; enforcement sits with the Department of Consumer Protection/Attorney General under CUTPA. PCI DSS applies as an industry standard rather than a state mandate.

Standing sub-brief143 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-08

Scheme & Network Compliance

Connecticut's credit-card surcharge ban, codified at §42-133ff and amended by Public Act 24-142, prohibits any person from imposing a surcharge on card transactions, while cash and check discounts remain permitted; municipalities and courts are exempted for tax, fine, and registration card payments. Violations are deemed violations of the Connecticut Unfair Trade Practices Act, enforceable by the Department of Consumer Protection Commissioner or the Attorney General through injunctive relief, restitution, and civil penalties. Connecticut is one of only four US states with an outright, judicially-unreversed surcharge ban, a structural constraint that materially shapes merchant fee pass-through design for Connecticut acquirers and independent sales organisations.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T1https://law.justia.com/codes/connecticut/title-42/chapter-739/section-42-133ff/
  2. T3https://www.wiggin.com/publication/connecticut-makes-significant-changes-to-its-credit-card-surcharge-law-effective-immediately/
  3. T1https://portal.ct.gov/dcp/legal/credit-card-surcharge
  4. T4https://merchantcostconsulting.com/lower-credit-card-processing-fees/connecticut-surcharge-laws/

#

Connecticut has no state-specific corridor regulation; cross-border consumer remittance activity out of Connecticut is governed by the federal Dodd-Frank remittance transfer rule (Reg E), while the state's Innovation Bank Charter has begun attracting cross-border settlement/clearing infrastructure providers seeking direct Fed and card-network rail access.

Standing sub-brief119 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-08

Payment Corridor Dynamics

Connecticut-originated consumer cross-border remittances are governed by the federal Dodd-Frank Remittance Rule under Regulation E rather than any state-specific corridor rule. Separately, the Innovation Bank Charter has begun attracting cross-border settlement and clearing infrastructure providers, including Banking Circle US, seeking direct Federal Reserve or card-network rail access to reduce correspondent-banking friction. No Connecticut-specific corridor-volume data has been identified this cycle, leaving the state's cross-border footprint to be inferred from charter-recipient activity rather than published flow statistics.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (3)
  1. T1https://www.consumercomplianceoutlook.org/2016/second-issue/an-overview-of-the-regulation-e-requirements-for-foreign-remittance-transfers/
  2. T3https://www.americanbanker.com/news/connecticuts-special-banking-charter-finds-a-new-purpose
  3. T3https://hartfordbusiness.com/article/ct-revives-long-dormant-banking-charter-to-woo-fintech-companies/

#

Connecticut's payments/fintech industry structure is anchored in Fairfield County (Stamford/Greenwich) proximity to NYC, Hartford's legacy insurance/finance base, and a deliberate state strategy (Innovation Bank Charter, DOB engagement) to attract wholesale/payments-infrastructure fintechs; financial services leads all sectors for funded CT startups.

Standing sub-brief114 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-08

Industry Structure & Commercial Dynamics

FinTech leads all industries among funded Connecticut startups, with 15 funded firms compared with 10 in IT services, concentrated in Fairfield County (Stamford and Greenwich), Hartford, and New Haven. The state actively markets the Innovation Bank Charter as a differentiator, notwithstanding American Banker's observation that novel special-purpose charters have largely struggled to take off elsewhere, including the OCC's fintech charter and comparable charters in other states.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T4https://fundraiseinsider.com/blog/connecticut-startups/
  2. T3https://www.advancect.org/news-and-media/p/item/66373/connecticuts-innovation-bank-charter-offers-a-competitive-path-for-fintech-growth
  3. T3https://www.americanbanker.com/news/connecticuts-special-banking-charter-finds-a-new-purpose
  4. T4https://www.inven.ai/company-lists/top-19-fintech-companies-in-connecticut

The Department of Banking actively enforces money transmission and consumer-credit law via consent orders and administrative proceedings, with recent (2025-2026) actions against unlicensed small-loan lending and virtual-currency-kiosk fee/limit violations, alongside the CT Attorney General's active CUTPA/data-privacy enforcement track.

Standing sub-brief133 words · last cycle wpm-2026-09-05

Legal & Litigation

The Department of Banking's Enforcement Division ran an active 2025-2026 track. In March 2026, the Department issued an emergency licence suspension and Temporary Cease and Desist against a virtual-currency kiosk operator for fee-cap and daily-limit violations, with restitution and disgorgement ordered. On September 24 2025, the Department entered a consent order against a personal-injury-advance lender for unlicensed 'small loan' activity exceeding the state's 12% usury cap. Together the two actions demonstrate the Department's willingness to deploy both emergency-suspension and negotiated-settlement enforcement tools within the same enforcement cycle.

Periodic update · new data 2026-09-05 · run wpm-2026-08-25

Legal & Litigation

In litigation with payments and derivatives-classification significance beyond its gambling-regulatory origin, the District of Connecticut twice denied Kalshi's bids for a preliminary injunction against the Department of Consumer Protection's cease-and-desist orders. The August 2026 ruling, issued by Judge Vernon D. Oliver, held that the sports event contracts at issue do not qualify as swaps and would not be preempted by the Commodity Exchange Act even if they did. The ruling is directly relevant to how state financial and gambling regulators may treat CFTC-registered platforms operating wagering-adjacent products, since it establishes a judicial precedent for classifying certain event contracts as the underlying regulated activity -- here, sports wagering -- rather than as federally preempted derivatives.

The dispute originated from Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection cease-and-desist orders, and the payments-relevant contribution of the ruling is narrowly the classification reasoning rather than the gambling-law merits of the underlying dispute, which fall outside this monitor's remit. Other CFTC-registered platforms and the state regulators assessing them may look to this reasoning as persuasive authority in comparable classification disputes.

Outlook

Watch for whether Kalshi appeals the ruling, whether the parallel CFTC and DOJ suit against Connecticut officials produces a countervailing federal determination, and whether other state regulators cite the Connecticut ruling's classification reasoning in their own enforcement postures toward CFTC-registered platforms.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T1https://portal.ct.gov/dob/bulletin/2026/bulletin-3238-march-13-2026
  2. T3https://www.consumerfinanceandfintechblog.com/2025/10/connecticut-department-of-banking-issues-consent-order-for-alleged-unlicensed-small-loan-activity/
  3. T1https://portal.ct.gov/DOB/Legal-Resources/Legal-Resources/Enforcement-of-Laws-Adminstered-by-the-Department-of-Banking
  4. T1https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/ag/press_releases/2025/updated-enforcement-report-pursuant-to-connecticut-data-privacy-act-conn-gen-stat--42515-et-seq.pdf

#

Merchant acquiring in Connecticut operates under the general bank-sponsorship/ISO model (no CT-specific acquirer charter), overlaid by the state's strict no-surcharge law which materially shapes merchant fee pass-through options; Greenwich-based ISO PayArc is a notable homegrown acquiring-technology player.

Standing sub-brief106 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-08

Merchant Acquiring & Risk

PayArc, a Greenwich, Connecticut payment facilitator founded in 2016, illustrates the standard bank-sponsorship acquiring model used by Connecticut independent sales organisations: it operates as a registered ISO/service provider of Chesapeake Bank, Evolve Bank & Trust, and Pinnacle/Synovus Bank, and as a registered payment facilitator of Pathward Bank. Connecticut's surcharge ban steers merchants and acquirers toward cash-discount pricing as the lowest-legal-exposure fee option, since surcharging itself remains prohibited statewide.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (3)
  1. T3https://www.payarc.com/about-us
  2. T4https://intellipay.com/is-it-legal-to-pass-on-credit-card-fees-to-customers/
  3. T4https://www.privsource.com/acquisitions/payments-fintech/state/connecticut

#

Connecticut's flagship payments-innovation vehicle is the Innovation Bank Charter (renamed 2024 from the dormant 'uninsured bank charter'), which has drawn cross-border clearing/settlement fintechs (Banking Circle US, Numisma Bank) seeking direct Fed and card-network rail access without a sponsor bank intermediary.

Standing sub-brief134 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-08

Product Innovation & Market Development

Connecticut's Innovation Bank Charter, established under Section 36a-70(t), permits organisation of a non-retail-deposit innovation bank that does not require FDIC insurance, subject to Commissioner sole approving authority, $5 million minimum equity capital, and a $20,000 application fee. Banking Commissioner Jorge Perez has framed the charter as part of a deliberate strategic plan for economic opportunity via charter and licensing innovation, positioning Connecticut as a jurisdiction actively competing for wholesale and cross-border fintech entrants rather than only conventional retail-deposit banks.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T1https://portal.ct.gov/DOB/Financial-Institutions-Division/FID/Organization-of-a-Connecticut-Bank
  2. T3https://www.klaros.com/post/an-updated-bank-charter-primer
  3. T3https://ctnewsjunkie.com/2024/09/27/connecticuts-fintech-hub-adds-second-innovation-bank/
  4. T3https://hartfordbusiness.com/article/ct-revives-long-dormant-banking-charter-to-woo-fintech-companies/

#

Connecticut has no PSR-style mandatory APP-fraud reimbursement scheme; consumer protection for payments fraud runs through CUTPA enforcement, the Attorney General's Elder Justice Hotline/Consumer Assistance Unit, and PA 25-66's new minors' money-sharing-app safeguards, against a backdrop of sharply rising elder financial-fraud losses.

Standing sub-brief136 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-08

Consumer Protection & APP Fraud

The FBI's Internet Crime Complaint Center recorded $16.6 billion in nationwide fraud losses in 2024, an increase of 388% year-on-year. Connecticut 'false pretense' scams, disproportionately affecting victims aged 65 and over, cost Connecticut victims an estimated $31.9 million in 2024. Public Act 25-66 separately adds parental-verification and identity-check requirements and account-deletion rights for minors' money-sharing app accounts. Connecticut has no PSR-style mandatory reimbursement scheme for authorised-push-payment fraud; consumer redress runs through the Connecticut Unfair Trade Practices Act and Attorney General channels rather than a dedicated reimbursement mandate.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T1https://portal.ct.gov/ag/elderhotline
  2. T1https://www.woodstockct.gov/home/news/preventing-financial-scams-among-connecticut-seniors
  3. T1https://www.cga.ct.gov/2025/SUM/PDF/2025SUM00066-R03HB-07082-SUM.PDF
  4. T2https://www.bbb.org/local/0111/elder-justice-ct

#

Sentinel.gi payments-context position: Connecticut money transmitters and virtual-currency businesses operate as MSBs under the federal Bank Secrecy Act/FinCEN framework, layered with state-level BSA/AML examination by the Department of Banking; no CT-specific AML statute displaces the federal BSA/AML program requirement.

Standing sub-brief132 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-08

AML/CFT & Financial Crime

This module surfaces Sentinel.gi-sourced anti-money-laundering intelligence for Connecticut; original illicit-finance typology and sanctions-evasion analysis remain with the Financial Intelligence Monitor per the World Payments Monitor scope guardrail. Connecticut-licensed money transmitters and virtual-currency exchangers or administrators qualify as money services businesses and must register with FinCEN and maintain a Bank Secrecy Act compliance programme. Separately, the Department of Banking may not license persons on OFAC's Specially Designated Nationals and Blocked Persons List, and all money-transmitter licensees undergo vetting for financial responsibility and criminal background.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (6)
  1. T1https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/dob/consumer-credit-licensing-info/department-of-banking-issues-consumer-and-industry-advisory-on-money-transmission.pdf
  2. T?FIM (sentinel.gi) per-JID baseline profile — United States — Connecticut — Connecticut regulates money transmission and virtual-currency kiosks through its Department of Banking under state licensing statutes, operating inside the uniform federal BSA/FinCEN framework. State licensing power permits suspension of money-transmitter licenses (demonstrated against Bitcoin Depot). Connecticut hosts a dense Fairfield County hedge-fund/private-equity complex and a major Hartford reinsurance sector, both subject to federal AML rules but limited state-level enhanced due diligence beyond licensing and consumer-complaint response.
  3. T?FIM (sentinel.gi) gaps_register_cumulative (issue FIM-BASE-GAP-003) — Gap: sourcing-thinness
  4. T2FIM (sentinel.gi) sanctions_change_register (issue FIM-BASE-SANC-002) — Sanctions: OFAC listing
  5. T?FIM (sentinel.gi) gaps_register_cumulative (issue FIM-BASE-GAP-001) — Gap: legal-gap
  6. T?FIM (sentinel.gi) gaps_register_cumulative (issue FIM-BASE-GAP-002) — Gap: regulatory-failure

#

Connecticut's Innovation Bank Charter is materially reshaping correspondent-banking/settlement access for payments firms domiciled in the state; Numisma Bank became the first Tier-3 (uninsured) institution to obtain a Federal Reserve master account under the Fed's 2022 access guidelines (conditional approval Mar 2024, full approval May 2024) -- though not the first uninsured entity ever to hold one (Reserve Trust obtained a master account in 2018 before ceasing operations).

Standing sub-brief211 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-08

Correspondent Banking, Settlement & Access

Connecticut's Innovation Bank Charter is structurally reshaping correspondent-banking and settlement access for payments firms domiciled in the state, and the module's analytical spine remains the asymmetry between bank and non-bank access to direct settlement rails. Numisma Bank, chartered under the Innovation Bank statute, obtained a Federal Reserve master account with conditional approval in March 2024 and full approval in May 2024, becoming the first Tier-3 (uninsured) institution to do so under the Fed's 2022 account-access guidelines. This is not, however, the first uninsured entity ever to hold a Fed master account: Reserve Trust, now defunct, obtained one in 2018, a challenger-flagged correction (hard-flag finding f-002) to this cycle's standing narrative. Industry participants, including Moneycorp, have explicitly framed Fed master-account access via the Innovation Bank Charter as a route to reduce correspondent-banking friction for cross-border payments firms.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T3https://www.freshfields.com/en/our-thinking/blogs/a-fresh-take/chartering-a-new-path-toward-banking-how-the-rise-of-novel-charters-is-reshaping-102l4fk
  2. T3https://hartfordbusiness.com/article/ct-revives-long-dormant-banking-charter-to-woo-fintech-companies/
  3. T4https://www.pcbb.com/bid/2024-09-03-the-impact-of-uninsured-and-novel-bank-charters
  4. T3https://www.advancect.org/news-and-media/p/item/64944/how-is-connecticut-expanding-as-a-fintech-hub-with-strategic-advantages

#

Trailing-12-month commercial activity centered on Connecticut-based payments/fintech firms includes an acquisition of a Glastonbury digital-payments platform by a national core-banking provider, a growth investment in a Greenwich-based payments ISO, and continued build-out of Stamford's Innovation-Bank-Charter cross-border payments cluster.

Standing sub-brief157 words · last cycle wpm-2026-07-08

Commercial Intelligence (M&A, Investment & Product)

Four discrete commercial events populate Connecticut's trailing-twelve-month payments record. Jack Henry & Associates entered a definitive agreement to acquire Payrailz, the Glastonbury-based digital payments platform, to expand real-time person-to-person, bill-pay, and account-to-account capabilities; financial terms were not publicly disclosed. Bregal Sagemount made a strategic growth investment in Greenwich-based PayArc to expand its product suite, sales and marketing, and geographic reach; the amount was not publicly disclosed. Banking Circle US launched its US operations in Stamford under the Innovation Bank Charter, providing cross-border payments and currency access via a proprietary platform. Stamford-based fintech Notable Finance raised $6 million to expand its home-sale credit and short-term line-of-credit business for home sellers.

No periodic updates recorded against this sub-brief.

Sources and findings (4)
  1. T3https://www.privsource.com/acquisitions/payments-fintech/state/connecticut
  2. T3https://www.privsource.com/acquisitions/payments-fintech/state/connecticut
  3. T3https://www.advancect.org/news-and-media/p/item/64944/how-is-connecticut-expanding-as-a-fintech-hub-with-strategic-advantages
  4. T3https://hartfordbusiness.com/article/stamford-fintech-notable-finance-raises-6m-to-expand-its-home-sale-credit-business/
No modules match.

Filters combine as OR inside a group and AND across groups.

Editorial metadata

Provenance only. Nothing below gates publication or affects the render.

Editorial metadata for United States – Connecticut
FieldValue
trust.lawyer_review.statusnever_reviewed
trust.lawyer_review.reviewernot recorded
trust.content_sourceai_generated

Provenance and declared absence

Disclosure model: module cards load OPEN; standing positions render in full; sub-briefs and jurisdiction briefs load as a clamped teaser with an explicit “read full” control carrying the true word count; earlier updates stay collapsed behind a counted summary. No text is hidden without disclosing how much of it there is.

Sentinel-fed modules receive no special rendering treatment. sentinel_feed is an attribution chip only: it does not suppress content, does not generate an absence reason code, and does not exclude the module from any count, filter, search index or export on this page.

Family taxonomy is renderer-level presentation config, not a JID field. Colour is always duplicated in text and is never the sole carrier of meaning.

Suppressed by doctrine: derived risk score; per-module RAG traffic light; derived_scores = {}.

Band honesty: uncertainty bands are computed against a frozen build clock of 2026-09-11. A year-precision row is never promoted into a tighter band.

Orphan deltas: 2 cycle_delta row(s) target non-module objects and are listed in the rail rather than attached to a card.

Envelope: baseline resolved at jurisdiction_json.baseline; 14 module(s), 60 finding(s), 120 source(s) in the cumulative register.